Detected DNS cache poisoning attack

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by halferhalfer, Jan 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. halferhalfer

    halferhalfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    USA
    I'm using Internet Connection Sharing over Wi-Fi on Windows 7, and I'm constantly getting this error:

    F6INs.png
    http://i.imgur.com/F6INs.png

    Is there a way to prevent it from occurring? Where do I set the exception?

    Thank you in advance.
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Try enabling pre-release updates in the update setup and let us know if you're still getting the message.
     
  3. halferhalfer

    halferhalfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    USA
    I tried, and it's not resolved with the updates. I heard about this before on ESET 4, but they couldn't find a solution. Because it's Microsoft ICS, ESET thinks that traffic coming from another computer is dangerous, and it's not. I flushed DNS already on both computers, yet the problem persists.

    This is ESET 5, if you couldn't tell from the warning window, by the way.
     
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    If you place it in Trusted zone?
     
  5. halferhalfer

    halferhalfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    USA
    It actually *is* in the trusted zone because it's a home computer. I have it in the "Allow Sharing" mode. Problems still persist.
     
  6. hogndog

    hogndog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    628
    Location:
    In His Service
  7. halferhalfer

    halferhalfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    USA
    hogndog: As much as I wish it was the problem with the DNS, it appears to be ESET's false positive.

    I'd appreciate it if you could just tell me how to list the IP as a false positive. I think filing a bugreport would also be a good thing to do.
     
  8. hogndog

    hogndog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    628
    Location:
    In His Service
  9. halferhalfer

    halferhalfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    USA
    As I mentoned above, I flushed DNS on both computers already. I could disable the tick here:

    Advanced Setup> Network> IDS and advanced options> Intrusion Detection,

    but I want to set an exception from *that* particular adress.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.