desktop - SSD and HDD

Discussion in 'hardware' started by Rasheed187, Feb 28, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,046
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Split from: Windows 8 and SSD

    Hi,

    I've just bought a new HP ENVY desktop, with a 1TB HDD and a 128GB SSD.

    But I don't get it, how to use the SSD? o_O

    And what are the advantages, should my PC boot up any faster?

    Also, if you look at the picture which one is the SSD?

    http://postimg.org/image/mkg4hg1r3/
     
  2. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,085
    Re: Windows 8 and SSD

    SSDs are much faster than HDDs. Your PC should boot faster, apps should load faster, everything should feel snappier. Your C: drive is on SSD as it should be.

    hqsec
     
  3. SirDrexl

    SirDrexl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Posts:
    545
    Location:
    USA
    Re: Windows 8 and SSD

    C is the SSD - well, most of it I think. It looks like they may have put the recovery image on the SSD instead of the HDD.
     
  4. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,046
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Re: Windows 8 and SSD

    Thanks for the replies. :)

    So you're saying that I've already been using the SSD all the time? :blink:

    And how to make use of the regular HDD? It's now completely empty.

    Also, I use a tool called HardDriveIndicator, is it now monitoring the SSD?

    http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/Hard-Disk-Utils/HardDriveIndicator.shtml

    Final question: how to know if (or when) my HDD is spinning?
     
  5. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,085
    Re: Windows 8 and SSD

    Yes, you've been using it al the time :) You can use HDD to store you personal data (pictures, movies, music...). At least I use it that way. You can also backup your system to HDD. I don't know the software so can't tell you if it works with SSD. The software you are using should tell you if HDD is spinning (so they claim in software description).

    hqsec
     
  6. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,046
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Re: Windows 8 and SSD

    Hi,

    I'm sorry if I'm a bit slow, but I'm new to this. :)

    What I meant is, now I get to see a HDD indicator on front of my desktop. How to tell if it's the SSD or HDD?

    And what happens if I move the Program Files folder from the SSD to the HDD? Will my PC get messed up? :doubt:
     
  7. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,085
    Re: Windows 8 and SSD

    I've installed it in VM to see if there are any advanced options, but there seems to be no option similar to selecting which drive is being monitored. I guess that this app can't tell you which drive is active. You should not (don't know even if you could) try to move Program Files folder from SSD to HDD. That folder should stay where it is.

    hqsec
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Rasheed187,

    Can you post a screenshot of Disk Management? That will help.
     
  9. SirDrexl

    SirDrexl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Posts:
    545
    Location:
    USA
    I looked at that HDD monitor application, and I couldn't find an option to monitor one drive or another either. I see activity regardless of whether my SSD or HDD is being accessed.

    I would try to find a new one if you need to see which drive is being accessed. That one hasn't been updated since 2006, so I doubt that feature will be added.
     
  10. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,046
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes, it's also unclear to me. When the HDD indicator (on front of my desktop) is active, the HDD monitor app also shows activity, so it is indeed working.

    It's so weird, when I download a 1 GB videogame demo, I don't see any HDD activity, and my PC is also quited, so I suppose it's indeed the SSD that I'm using. :)

    I guess I need to do a bit of reading, but is it true that the SSD and HDD are in fact working together?

    And can I just copy all data from the SSD to the HDD, as a back up? ;)

    http://s30.postimg.org/vr9g1q4oh/image.png
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2014
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Rasheed187,

    Your OS is on the SSD, installed in UEFI mode.

    You can use the HD to hold your data (photos, video, documents, downloads, music, etc) and image backups of the SSD. Or you can have your data on the SSD.
     
  12. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,046
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Wow, that sounds kinda exciting, it would be an easy way to make (extra) backups. :)

    To be honest, I'm not completely satisfied when it comes to speed. Apps (regular, not Metro) are quick to load and Win 8 feels snappy.

    However, I don't really see any difference when it comes to web-page rendering. But I guess that's not because of the SSD, but it's related to the browser.

    Btw, does UEFI mode give any advantages?
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2014
  13. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  14. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,046
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  15. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,046
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Re: Windows 8 and SSD

    Hi,

    I forget to response, thanks for the reply. :)

    But I was thinking, is it perhaps possible to make a complete backup of the SSD? So that if the SSD fails, I can just boot up from my HDD?

    Can I use tools like XXCLONE and Macrium Reflect?

    http://www.xxclone.com/
    http://www.macrium.com/reflectfree.aspx
     
  16. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,046
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    *Bump* (see post #15)

    Does anyone know if this is possible? :rolleyes:

    So if the SSD fails, you can just boot from the HDD? :)
     
  17. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    If you mean keeping a clone of the SSD, it's a bad idea. But keeping images of the SSD to restore to a HD is a good idea.
     
  18. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,085
    You can create special partition -128 GB - and leave it empty. Other 800+ GB can be used to store system images (you can use Macrium) and also store other personal data. If SSD fails, you can restore an image to that special partition using Macrium bootcd. That way you can get your system back in no time.

    hqsec
     
  19. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,046
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks for the feedback. :)

    Btw, another question, I opened my desktop today, and I noticed that the HDD and SSD were installed a bit skewed (not sure if this is correct English).

    But isn´t this bad for drives? o_O
     
  20. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,085
    You only have to check if HDD is firmly attached (you can't move it with your hand). Position of HDD is not that important. SSDs don't have any rotating parts so you don't have to worry about it.

    hqsec
     
  21. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,046
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK thanks for the feedback. I never saw this before and it looked a bit weird. ;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.