desktop quick launch disabled?

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by noway_50, Jun 30, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. noway_50

    noway_50 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1
    hmmm....ever since I installed Spyblaster the quick launch icons in my WinXP desktop have disappeared, and I can't reactivate them. the checkbox enabling quick launch in the Toolbar Settings keeps being cleared by something, presumably Spyblaster. anybody else have this experience? I scanned quickly thru 12 pages of prior posts and didn't see any reference to this issue. any help most appreciated.

    Noway
     
  2. MCT

    MCT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Posts:
    300
    hi :D

    i doubt this was caused by spyware blaster, disable all protections & check (remember 2 reeenable them if its not the case)

    try a regitry tweak 2 force the quicklaunch maybe here: http://tweakxp.com

    regards
     
  3. rcn

    rcn Guest

    I had the same problem as nowway_50! After I updated Spyblaster half of my desktop icons disappeared after re-starting. However, I'm a real novice with pcs and don't know what to do. btw I'm using a Japanese version of Win Xp.
     
  4. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    As MCT mentioned, i don't see how SpywareBlaster could possibly cause that.

    Also as said, did u try disabling all protection in SpywareBlaster to see if your desktop icons reappear?


    snowbound
     
  5. rcn

    rcn Guest

    Yes. I disabled all protection and the icons didn't reappear. What next?
     
  6. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    I wish i knew. :doubt:

    Hopefully, someone will come along with a solution to this.

    Sorry i couldn't have been more help.....


    snowbound
     
  7. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Hey rcn,

    If you don't mind....would you attempt something Please. Place a new item in the Quick launch area....perhaps IE if it ain't there. Then reboot the computer and tell us if your item stayed in the quick launch area. If it did not stick....would you mind looking to see if either of the below items in bold are located in your registry. Also....is this happening on an account with Admin priviligies ?

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\
    Explorer....NoSaveSettings


    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\
    Explorer....NoSaveSettings
     
  8. rcn

    rcn Guest

    Thanks

    Actually I figured out the problem was totally unrelated to Spywareblaster. My wife cleaned up the desktop w/o telling me! Thanks to all that tried to help me.
     
  9. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Re: Thanks

    They do mean well :)

    Glad you got it all figured out....and thanks for coming back and letting us know.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.