Dell XPS 630

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by The Hammer, May 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Dell says on it's site the 630 is a mid tower case. But I see where CNET criticises it because the case is so large. Has anybody seen one?
     
  2. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Dell XPS 630

    Weight & Dimensions
    Width: 199mm (7.83”)
    Height: 491mm (19.32”)
    Depth: 560mm (22.05”)
    Estimated starting weight 17.69kgs (39lbs) & packed weight of 24.95kgs (55lbs).

    I've seen the XPS 730 case and its fairly large. The 630 case has similar dimensions so i'd say its fairly large as well.
     
  3. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    I also have seen the 630 at a Dell kiosk. Mid tower? Imo no...



    snowbound
     
  4. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Thans to all for your replies.:thumb:
     
  5. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Unless you are limited for space then keep in mind "bigger is better" for cooling reasons.
     
  6. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    The one at Sherway doesn't have it but PCmag has an excellent review.
     
  7. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    It was a Dell display at Square One, where i saw it a while back. Bestbuy might have it.



    snowbound
     
  8. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I believe it would fit the spot I have in mind IF I get it, although I'm not sure I like the fact it's dual and not quad core. I realize that there aren't that many programs and games that utilize Quad but I like to future proof as much as possible as I tend to keep my computers a long time. :doubt:
     
  9. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Total agreement on future proofing. Running a dual core now but looking seriously at Quads. If they ever come out with Desktop\non-server dual quad :eek: mobos I will be standing in line with my wallet out. :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.