Deleting Restore Points

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by k4c3, Nov 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. k4c3

    k4c3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Deleting TI9 image points

    Is this possible and how? And if not why not?

    I have a laptop with restore points that I am getting rid of. The first restore point must stay on, and the others I have to delete.

    Help please...
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2006
  2. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Assuming you have Windows XP:

    1. Run DiskCleanup (Start button, All Programs, Accessories, System Tools, DiskCleanup).

    2. Selcect the C drive.

    3. Click the "More Options" tab.

    4. In the System Restore box, click the "Cleanup" button.

    5. Click "Yes" to delete all but the most recent Restore Point.

    I don't know any way to save any other restore points, and it's unlikely that any very old restore points would work. That's what full system backups are for.
     
  3. k4c3

    k4c3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    I mean in the True Image software, thought that was assumed! :p
     
  4. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    If you mean archive images they can easily be deleted by a right click and select delete.

    If the images are in the Secure Zone what you want to do is not possible. Images in the zone are managed automatically on a FIFO basis. A user has no options other than to delete the zone using it's wizard. This will delete all the images in the zone.

    If it is vital that the first image is kept you have the choice of ceasing to use the secure zone before the first image is recycled or restore this first image to another location.

    Xpilot
     
  5. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    Re: Deleting Restore Points in TI9


    why must the first restore point stay on ? with every new machine ( desktop or lap top ) I always just turn system restore off which deletes everything as far as I'm concerned.

    Start/Control Panel/system/system restore/check "turn off system restore"
    warning "all existing restore points will be deleted"

    Windows system restore is rubbish and if anyone is using ATI unnecessary.
     
  6. k4c3

    k4c3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Re: Deleting TI9 image points

    I mean TI9 images. The ones TI9 makes. My first one is a clean Windows install and id like to go back to that first point, then leave no trace of all other points as they contain personal information, (passwords etc).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.