Deleting a partition with Partition Expert

Discussion in 'Other Acronis Products' started by Colvin, Apr 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Colvin

    Colvin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    75
    Location:
    USA
    I am working on an old PC that has 4 partitions. I successfully increased the free space on C: from an empty one [F:]. However, F: is still displayed in Windows Explorer as having 47 megs used. So, I deleted F:, which got rid of it in Windows Explorer. But in Partition Expert it still shows it as using 47 megs of space and as "unallocated". Is there a way to get rid of that 47 megs of space, move it over to C: and get rid of F: altogether?

    THANKS!

    Jeff
     
  2. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, Colvin

    Have you tried a reboot of your system, Jeff and see it it clears it in PE.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  3. Colvin

    Colvin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    75
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, it shows as "unallocated space" with 47 megs used.
     
  4. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, Covin

    Is F: in an extended Partition?

    Try using your BootDisk [if you made one, if not I advise you to] to recover the space.

    I do all my Partitioning with the BootCD.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Colvin,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk and Partition Management Software (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/).

    Could you please create Acronis Report in the way described at Acronis Help Post and send to support@acronis.com along with the link to this thread? Please indicate in the subject of the letter that you want to contact Ilya Toytman. I will try to help you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  6. Colvin

    Colvin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    75
    Location:
    USA
    Ilya,

    Normally, I would gladly do as you requested. However, the machine I was working on had terminal problems and consequently it was fdisked, reformatted and a clean install done. Thus this has become a moot issue. :D

    Thanks, anyway!
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Colvin,

    I am really sorry to hear you had to format the drive and install everyhting from scratch. If you encounter any problems with Acronis software in future please feel free to contact our Support Team via e-mail support@acronis.com.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.