Delayed start with AntiVir firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by mvdu, May 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    Hi,

    When I try AntiVir Premium Security Suite on Windows Vista, the firewall service doesn't start until about 20 seconds after entering Windows. The representative at the AntiVir forum said this was natural with a big operating system like Vista, but I never saw any delay with NIS 2007. I have my router for inbound protection, but LeakTest and Firefox both can connect out during AntiVir's delay. Is this a concern?
     
  2. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    The fact that anything could connect out in the 20 seconds it takes for your firewall to start up would be considered a big concern to many.
     
  3. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    Does this firewall run as a service?
     
  4. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    Yes, I believe it does run as a service.
     
  5. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    Most Odd! :blink: I have Avira Premium Security Suite running on Vista Home Premium, and its Active Instantaniously on Startup :ninja:
     
  6. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    I use Outpost Pro, which also runs as a service. Although the icon does not show up in the systray for several seconds after windows loads, I'm protected since it runs as a service. I would "think" the same applies to AntiVir.

    ...screamer
     
  7. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    It does not apply because anything can connect out.
     
  8. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    hmmm? me thinks it's time to contact tech support

    ...screamer
     
  9. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    Could it be something with my Vista system, though? I experimented with KIS and PC Tools firewalls, and there was a slight delay, though a lot less than AntiVir's. The AV part of the Antivir Suite comes on right away.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.