Delay with the last step of a scheduled task

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Stephane Le Chat, Jun 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Stephane Le Chat

    Stephane Le Chat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Hi

    I've posted a question to the Acronis support, 2 times, and I've received no response.... :thumbd:

    So I try here :)

    The problem is: the time beetween the 16th and 17th (which is the last) steps of a scheduled task is increasing over 2mn30s.
    Afer the 16th step ("La vérification du fichier de sauvegarde est terminée"), the little Acronis logo in the task bar disapears, and the user believes that the PC will close very shortly.
    But the PC doesn't stop.
    So, the user stops again the PC (via Start Menu), and the others tasks are not done.

    If the user doesn't stop the PC again, the last step (Opération réussie) occurs, and the next task begins.

    When I've created this tasks, there was no time beetween the 17th and the 18th steps. But today (2 mounths latter), the time is > 2mn30s.

    The file to be saved is not bigger than 2 mounths ago.

    Can you help me please?

    PS: Sorry if the explaination is a little "hard" to understand, it's not very easy for me to write in english.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,480
    Location:
    California
    Re: Delai with the last step of a scheduled task

    How many image files are in the Backup Location?

    What are the file sizes for the images in the Backup Location?

    What type of backup are you doing (Full, Incremental, Differential)?

    Is there still heavy disk activity going on during the time between the 16th and 17th steps? (Hard drive light on steady, etc.)
     
  3. Stephane Le Chat

    Stephane Le Chat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Re: Delai with the last step of a scheduled task

    Hi,

    Thanks for your help.

    How many image files are in the Backup Location? ~ 60 since the creation date (28th of february).

    What are the file sizes for the images in the Backup Location? ~ 7Mo (see screan shot)

    What type of backup are you doing (Full, Incremental, Differential)? Full (details on the screen shot)

    Is there still heavy disk activity going on during the time between the 16th and 17th steps? No, no activity. Backup runs when user stops the PC.

    PJ: Screen shots

    Good weekend.

    Stéphane
     

    Attached Files:

  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,480
    Location:
    California
    Re: Delai with the last step of a scheduled task

    The time between steps 6 & 7 and 15 & 16 is also increasing, though at a slower rate. My guess would be the delay is caused by how TI is using the Backup Location. It may be doing some "internal" work during that time.

    60 backups is a lot and it has to go through them all for the validation. It may also be doing some processing after the validation, especially since the time seems to be increasing with the number of images saved.

    Is this a "files & folders" type backup (not an image backup)? I would guess it is because the files are so small.

    What version and build of TI are you using?

    If you create a new Backup Location (don't make any changes to your existing Backup Location) with the same settings and then setup a new task (you can run it manually) to run the same backup, do you get the same "quick" times you originally got?
     
  5. Stephane Le Chat

    Stephane Le Chat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    MudCrab

    "60 backups is a lot and it has to go through them all for the validation."
    Does TI go through all the backups when backups are full backups?
    Are'nt full backups independant?

    "Is this a "files & folders" type backup (not an image backup)?" Yes, it's a "files and folders" type backup.

    "What version and build of TI are you using?" Acronis True Image 10 Home.

    "If you create a new Backup Location (don't make any changes to your existing Backup Location) with the same settings and then setup a new task (you can run it manually) to run the same backup, do you get the same "quick" times you originally got?" I could try it, but it's not my own PC but a custommer's PC. But I think it would be OK.

    What do you think about that test: remove all backups from their original location and save them in an other location to see if delay decreases. If the result is OK, I could suggest my client to do this every mounth?
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,480
    Location:
    California
    It's my understanding that TI will validate every image in the Backup Location. As you add more images, times will increase.

    I would try the testing using a new Backup Location as this wouldn't risk disrupting the original. I suppose you could also just rename the Backup Location folder and then create a new folder with the same name (at the same location). Then copy the "acronis... cfg" file from the other folder to the new one and run the tests. When done, just delete the new folder and rename the old one back to its original name.

    I don't currently use the Backup Location feature so I'm just throwing out ideas. Whatever you try, make sure to keep the original files safe.
     
  7. Stephane Le Chat

    Stephane Le Chat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Thanks MudCrab for your help.

    I'm very surprised that in case of full backups, True Image validate every backups. i was thinking that full backups were independant. Was I right or not? Is this a "bug" with True Image?

    Would it be the same if I did not use an "Acronis zone" to store the backups?

    Stéphane
     
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,480
    Location:
    California
    If you use the Backup Location or the Secure Zone, TI will validate all images saved in the location when you run a validation on the location. Whether it's a bug or a feature is a matter of opinion.

    If you backup to a normal folder, TI will only validate the newly created image. However, you will have to manage your images manually (moving or deleting old images, etc.). You also won't have automatic naming of the new images. This would mean using a pre-Backup script to rename the previous backup so the new one doesn't overwrite it.
     
  9. Stephane Le Chat

    Stephane Le Chat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Hi Mudcrab

    Thanks for your explainations.

    In fact, the main problem is that the logo in the notification bar disapears before the end of the backup (at step 17), and that the user believes the PC will stop very shortly.

    I'd like that Acronis Support tells if this is a "bug" or not. In all cases, this must be improved because this is a trouble for the user.

    Stéphane
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Stephane Le Chat and MudCrab,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Backup software and please accept our apologies with the delay with the answer.

    Acronis True Image 11 and earlier versions of the program (I mean ones using Backup Location feature) are designed in such a way that they validate all the images (no matter if all they are full or there are also inc/diff) in Backup Locations. Such a mechanism is really not very usable and it'll be changed in the next version.

    Thank you
    --
    Nikita Sakharov
     
  11. Stephane Le Chat

    Stephane Le Chat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    "Dear" Acronis Support :)

    Thanks for your answer, even if so late.

    As you wrote it, validating all the backups is - perhaps - not the best.

    But could you explain why the Acronis logo disapears before the end of the task? (At step 17).

    Yesterday, I've called my customer to take a rendez-vous. She says that the all backups (6 backups) take 20 mn now! (<4 mn when I created the tasks).
    I'll go and have a look on the Acronis informations on next friday.
    I will probably need your help again :doubt:

    I hope you (Acronis Support) will answer quicker this time... :)

    Stéphane
     
  12. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Stéphane,

    Thank you for your answer.

    As for the issue dealing with the icon disappearing while archive is being verified I must say we never faced such an issue, so could you please tell me your case number in Acronis Support Department? I'll check how the issue is investigated and most likely it'll be escalated to our Experts or Quality Assurance Team. You can find your case number in autoreply letter you've received after submitting request.

    Thank you
    --
    Nikita Sakharov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.