DefenseWall v3.01 released.

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by ViVek, May 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ViVek

    ViVek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    551
    Location:
    Moon
  2. adik1337

    adik1337 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    199
    thanks for the update.
     
  3. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    what's the difference between the pesonal firewall and defensewall hips?
     
  4. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    can i use a registry cleaner while using defensewall?
     
  5. ViVek

    ViVek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    551
    Location:
    Moon
    yes you can
     
  6. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    what about the difference between the pesonal firewall and defensewall hips?
     
  7. SafetyFirst

    SafetyFirst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Posts:
    462
    Older versions of DefenseWall were HIPS only (policy based sandbox). Starting from version 3 DefenseWall includes a firewall too.

    What is confusing to me is that DW download page offers two separate installers with English user interface (for HIPS and firewall respectively) which are both of the same size. What's the difference?
     
  8. ViVek

    ViVek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    551
    Location:
    Moon
    You can manually disable the firewall
     
  9. SafetyFirst

    SafetyFirst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Posts:
    462
    I know. But why separate installers (which are probably both the same)?

    Same thing for Polish language.
     
  10. ViVek

    ViVek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    551
    Location:
    Moon
    Yes,both installers are the same,why?i dont know
     
  11. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    The difference is just one .reg file inside the HIPS installation file.
     
  12. cgeek

    cgeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Posts:
    328
    Updated and running smooth as usual. :thumb:

    Thanks
    cgeek
     
  13. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
    I use CCleaner and RegSeeker and have had no problems with DW, KAV, MBAM or Malware Defender (need to set permissions with MD).

    Updated to 3.01 and everything smooth.
     
  14. SafetyFirst

    SafetyFirst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Posts:
    462
    Ilya, can you elaborate on this, please?

    What is different in HIPS version from the firewall version? Since both versions include both firewall and HIPS, why the difference? Does it mean that one of the two offers better protection? What's the point?
     
  15. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    PF=HIPS+bi-directional network control. From the binary point of view, installation files are the same but one .reg file with registry switch value.
     
  16. SafetyFirst

    SafetyFirst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Posts:
    462
    I have the HIPS version installed. Can I change that .reg file manually to achieve bi-directional network control? If yes, how?
     
  17. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    757
  18. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    Just remove "hips_only" value into the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\SoftSphere Technologies\DefenseWall registry key and wait a minute.
     
  19. SafetyFirst

    SafetyFirst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Posts:
    462
    Thank you. I'll try that.
     
  20. SafetyFirst

    SafetyFirst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Posts:
    462
    I have done that.

    However, DefenseWall fails GRC test:

    Only five of the first 1056 ports are stealth, the others are closed.

    When I enable Windows firewall, all ports are stealth:

    Any comments are welcome.
     
  21. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    DefenseWall do not stealth ports, this can't protect you from being attacked. But blocking ports of trusted processes can.

    DefenseWall is not a placebo.
     
  22. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    I was under the understanding that DW can be ran along side of the Windows Firewall (which would give layered protection.) Is this correct?
     
  23. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    DW can run alongside most of the firewall applications:)
     
  24. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, I am using DW with Windows firewall (XP Pro SP3).
     
  25. cgeek

    cgeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Posts:
    328
    I'm running DefenseWall Firewall with Windows XP firewall and the SPI firewall in my router. It is enough for me. Plus DW's firewall is different than traditional firewalls if I'm correct. It's is only supposed to let processes labeled untrusted gain access to the internet. Those untrusted processes are only limited to the sandbox, thus they have limited privilages and can't modify the system or gain access to sensitive data. This is the way I understood DW's firewall.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.