DefenseWall: FlashPlayerPlugin Running Untrusted??

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by chinook9, Nov 15, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chinook9

    chinook9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    439
    DefenseWall: Flash Player Plugin is now running untrusted.

    To my knowledge this plugin has never run untrusted before but now it is...on two different machines.

    I know malware can use flash player but I expect I still have to run the plugin as trusted.

    Is this correct?
     
  2. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Flashplayer trusted? You have to be kidding?

    As far as I am concerned, anything made by Adobe should be untrusted including Reader. On any HIPS I have used, I always set Flash and Reader to untrusted.

    In IE9 I go one step further, I always run with ActiveXFiltering enabled. That permanently shuts down Flash. If I want to view a video, I temporarily disable ActiveXFiltering.
     
  3. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    Flush Player Plugin should be trusted itself, by default. What's your Windows version? What's your Flash version? Can you confirm it's present into the "Untrusted Applications" as "blue" item?
     
  4. chinook9

    chinook9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    439
    The OS is Windows 7 and it is up-to-date.
    FlashPlayerPlugin version is 11_3_300_271
    FlashPlayerPlugin is not shown in blue in the untrusted applications.

    FlashPlayerPlugin_11_3_300_271.exe in the Flash folder is shown as trusted by DW properties.
     
  5. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    Ah, that it's OK. You must be seen it running untrusted as it has been launched by untrusted browser process.
     
  6. chinook9

    chinook9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    439
    I'm not sure how to deal with this? Most times I can still view what I believe are flash videos but there have been a couple of times that I wanted to see a flash video and couldn't because it was blocked.

    Why has this never happened before? I'm not sure, but I believe it only started with DW 3.20.
     
  7. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    If you see Flash video blocked, immediately export DW's logs into a file ("Events log"->"Export") and send this file to support [at] softsphere [dot] com, I'll check everything out. I have some doubts it's about DW as, this case, all the flash videos would be blocked but, anyway, I want to the the logs.
     
  8. chinook9

    chinook9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    439
    Will do.
     
  9. chinook9

    chinook9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    439
    Ilya, I just sent you the log.
     
  10. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    See my back e-mail.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.