DefenseWall Configuration?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CogitoErgoSum, Dec 30, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CogitoErgoSum

    CogitoErgoSum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Posts:
    641
    Location:
    Cerritos, California
    Correct me if I am wrong, do I have to switch the following "untrusted" applications such as Eudora, Firefox, Internet Explorer and Opera to "trusted" before I can effectively update these same apps. when program updates are available? Any comments or advice would be greatly appreciated.


    Peace & Love,

    CogitoErgoSum
     
  2. toadbee

    toadbee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    123
    Yes - you are correct on that. You need to run them as Trusted for the updates.
    You can right-click on a desktop shortcut and run as trusted, or from within DW interface, goto the "add/remove untrusted" tab - Highlight your browser and click on "Run as trusted" to launch the app ie. you don't have to remove the Item from the untrusted list.
     
  3. CogitoErgoSum

    CogitoErgoSum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Posts:
    641
    Location:
    Cerritos, California
    Thanks toadbee for the clarification and confirmation.


    Peace & Love,

    CogitoErgoSum
     
  4. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    You can also highlight the app in the untrusted list, then click "remove" and "disable". That will disable protection from that app without having to add it all over again when you're done. The "Run as trusted" button works well, too.
     
  5. CogitoErgoSum

    CogitoErgoSum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Posts:
    641
    Location:
    Cerritos, California
    Thanks Notok for the alternative options.


    Peace & Love,

    CogitoErgoSum
     
  6. qazu76

    qazu76 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Posts:
    21
    I assume during application of Windows updates the disabling of everything in the default list would be needed? Is that correct?

    Is there a fast way to do this?
     
  7. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    You would only need to disable protection for IE, or Run as Trusted.
     
  8. toadbee

    toadbee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    123
    If you have windows set to download updates automatically, you don't have to do anything with defensewall.
     
  9. qazu76

    qazu76 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Posts:
    21
    Thanks guys, for clearing that up. :)
     
  10. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    In fact, if you run "Windows Update" program within your "Start" menu, the Internet Explorer process will be runned as trusted automatically. You don't need do anything special for it, everything is already done.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.