DefenseWall 3.24 released

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by chachazz, Mar 27, 2014.

  1. chachazz

    chachazz Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Posts:
    840
    DefenseWall 3.24 - March 27, 2014
    1. Digital certificate issue solved.
    Use the internal updater or Download @SoftSphere.com

    DefenseWall 3.23 - March 20, 2014
    1. Support for new Chromium-based Opera (still can't find out what's wrong there with auto-updates).
    2. Minor improvements.
     
  2. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,100
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Before anyone asks, there is no 64-bit version yet.
     
  3. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,764
    Location:
    Outer space
    Thanks for the notice.

    @Ilya
    ASLR still isn't enabled.
     
  4. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    Weird, I did enable ASLR for all the executable modules. Let me check this...

    Yes, you are correct, I have goofed with right field indication. Will update 3.24 or release 3.25 soon.
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2014
  5. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,950
    Location:
    USA
    I use to use DefenseWall years ago when I had a 32bit OS. Ilya do you ever intend to make DefenseWall 64bit compatible? I think most home users these days have 64bit OS.
     
  6. safeguy

    safeguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Posts:
    1,709
    Well, it has been said that he intends to if he finds a legit way around KPP/PatchGuard. It has also been said that he is involved with some other project (ATMs??).

    What I'm curious is from a bystander's POV...at what stage Ilya is in at in regards to 64-bit? 0%? 20%? Any progress made in terms of contacting or working with Microsoft? If not, does he still plan to sue MS? Time is ticking away...32-bit won't die just yet but how long does he want to wait? Perhaps sell the business while it still is viable and move along to other means of income?

    Questions for which I'm not expecting any answer. I don't even have the rights to. Just voicing out my thoughts.
     
  7. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    2,157
    Location:
    in a remote land :)
    i share your frustration, i have a license for it, not used yet, since ALL my computers (and my friends' one) are x64 ; and of course i will not use it on a VM...
     
  8. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    what is the new version?
     
  9. Feandur

    Feandur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Posts:
    401
    Location:
    Australia
    Ilya: Any news of 3.25 ?
    -cheers,
    feandur
     
  10. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,695
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi Guys,

    I have DW on an old old machine have not used it in ages, so I've kind of forgotten about DW.

    I was given this Vista 32 bit machine & use it all the time in my (man cave) garage.

    I was quite happy with the Vista machine using 360safe IS, & MBAE. No problems, safe & all was well. Well I got MBAM Pro lifetime, installed it & this kind of upset my happy balance, we bit of a slower now. I was not compromised previous to MBAM (I know how to stay out of trouble) & now with the addition of MBAM, seems a little heavy, or not adding much to the party, that 360 & mbae did not already have covered. So MBAM pro, & the little bit heavy, I started this tread:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/memory.362196/page-2#post-2360347

    So to lighten the load 32 bit, I'm thinking of ditching 360safe, MBAM, turn off Windows warnings about AV, & use DW (the one with sandbox). Use Eset online, MBAM, & SAS on demand.

    My thinking here is I'll be very safe, & the machine will be like on steroids:)

    Do I have any flies in my ointment, or is this a good strategy?

    Thanks
    Rico
     
  11. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    @Rico
    I've been using DefenseWall along with ShadowDefender on Xp 32-bit for years which has proven to be a solid setup.
    This along with an occasional scan with a few tools is all I use.
    I'm sure you would be fine with your planned strategy. Just make sure that your machine is clean prior to installing DefenseWall.
     
  12. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,695
    Location:
    Texas
    I'm trialing DW w/sandbox, or $39 version. I told 360 safe & MBAM to not start with windows, also uninstalled private FW before installing DW. Seems no difference (speed) to slightly heavier, with just DW & MBAE

    Windows security center is not giving tray earning, while from ctrl panel Security center, does say 360 is turned off. Also the listed FW (security center) says windows FW active. I thought the more expensive DW had a FW, does not say this in security center.
     
  13. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
    Good luck Rico. DW was part of my setup for several years until I went x64.
     
  14. theshadow247

    theshadow247 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    323
    Location:
    ontario.canada
    I have been using Defensewall and shadow defender for years and have had no problems.
     
  15. BrendanAdams

    BrendanAdams Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Posts:
    137
    Location:
    France
    My 32 bit Vista laptop has just crashed (after 5 year and a half) and I think I'll buy a win 7 32 bit laptop just to be able to use Defensewall again ...
    I understand the pros of 64 bit systems, but well, I have difficulty imagining mine without DW. I still have a couple of days before making the final decision.
     
  16. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    2,157
    Location:
    in a remote land :)
    so you should consider Appguard. No way i consider buying hardware depending of just a software that can be replaced, discontinued , etc... Especially when new laptops have a minimum of 4-6gb and you are limited to 3gb by your 32bits OS...
     
  17. Feandur

    Feandur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Posts:
    401
    Location:
    Australia
    @ BrendanAdams - I feel your pain. Still running DefenseWall personal firewall on 32bit XP and 32bit Windows 7.
    That's just me... my security blanket - call me Linus. :D

    But

    my teenager is running Appguard very successfully, and without complaint, on a modern i7 Asus laptop 64bit Windows 8.
    Using in conjunction with EAM and nothing else (well, the usual browser add-ons).

    And

    no infections so far...a bit of a record... ;)

    It has it's own 'personality' - as with DW - where you "run trusted" to do browser updates and software installations,
    in Appguard just lower the protection to install / uninstall software.

    Otherwise - set and forget.

    Give it a go.

    You'll be OK.

    feandur
     
  18. BrendanAdams

    BrendanAdams Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Posts:
    137
    Location:
    France
    Thanks a lot for the advice. I might give Appguard a try then. I already have Outpost pro and EAM, but I enjoyed DW's secure browser for banking as an extra option.
    Indeed the 3.25gb limit of 32 bits OS is a pain. I guess I'll go for 64 bits with Appguard then.
     
  19. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,764
    Location:
    Outer space
    Any news on an update with ASLR?

    With recent versions of Flash Player together with Cyberfox I get pop-ups where I can't tick the Remember option:
    dw.png
     
  20. Pablo87

    Pablo87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Posts:
    324
    Why is it so hard to make a 64bit version all major software company's have 64bits programma's in no time
     
  21. syrinx

    syrinx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    334
    I imagine it has to do with being unable to patch the kernel in 64 bit. They would not be able to reliably produce a product that can do as much as they can with the 32 bit version. Since moving on to a 64 bit OS myself I have noticed that products that 'do have' 64 bit versions simply don't function as well as their 32 bit counterparts. They have proven to be unreliable or erratic in some situations. With patchguard blocking changes to the kernel there is a limited number of things they can intercept or protect making much of what this specific product can do with 32 bit OS's impossible on the 64 bit OS's. Patchguard was a nice idea but IMO has proven to be more of a hindrance relying on one SLOW company (Microsoft) to discover and fix vulnerabilities with updates rather than allowing 3rd parties to enhance the kernel with their own protections.
     
  22. vojta

    vojta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    In other words, it's easy to make a HIPS for 64 bits because they do almost nothing.
     
  23. Pablo87

    Pablo87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Posts:
    324
    i agree with youre reply.. major company's saying they support 64bit OS for the fullest but yeah that isn't true, i had always a pc with 64bit OS so i had never a chance to get known with defensewall
    and thats so true microsoft is slow.. but the defensewall crew are they now working to realize a 64bit version or will they stick with 32bit.. what i realy understand if they do
     
  24. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,632
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    It's must be close to impossible for 64bit compatibility because knowing Ilya he would have long since released a version by now. We will probably never see it unfortunately :doubt:
     
  25. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    Sandboxie faced wit the patchguard problem, found another way to do it.
     
Loading...