DefenseWall 3.17

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by G1111, Jan 18, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
    "DefenseWall 3.17 beta is ready for your tests.

    -www.softsphere.com/files/DefenseWall_Personal_Firewall_v3_17.exe-

    This build solves some issues found in the previous version of DefenseWall."

    One minor bug with correct version in tray icon reported. 32-bit only.
     
  2. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,849
    I've got a quick question regarding DefenseWall. I've convinced my Dad to buy a few copies when their Norton runs out, then I will couple it with a free AV. However, what is the licensing on it? I know it's lifetime but don't you lose updates and support after a year? That's what I've been telling them but I want to make sure.
     
  3. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
    See here -https://secure.payproglobal.com/orderpage.aspx?products=57775 for cost. It is good for at least one year and will continue to operate after, but you will have to pay for renewal to a new version after one year. Renewal price is at this link -https://secure.payproglobal.com/orderpage.aspx?products=58285. It also currently for 32-bit systems only (will not operate on 64-bit at this time). I find it to be the best security software that I have used and with great support from the developer.
     
  4. gugarci

    gugarci Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    288
    Location:
    Jersey
    I was hoping when I saw this thread it would finally support x64. If and when they released x64 version I will buy it immediately. I tried this program briefly on my old XP Pro desktop and I really loved it.
     
  5. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    Still waiting for x64.... Ilya must be missing out on A LOT of money for not having his precious software supporting x64 which today dominates the market for new computers.
     
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    very true
     
  7. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    totally agree. If he does get 64 bit it will be the hottest product on the market. I really hope so.:thumb:
     
  8. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,100
    Location:
    Adelaide
    64-bit version of DefenseWall = money from me to Ilya.
     
  9. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Count me in too :thumb:
     
  10. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    I second that. Sandboxie has made a perfectly safe version for x64 and it's as safe as the 32-bit version. Why wouldn't DefenseWall be able to do exactly the same?

    x64 version of DW = 3 bought licenses by me immidiately after release.
     
  11. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Does DW nag you with a popup to prolong the licence after a year, on every startup or has this altered?
     
  12. Zyrtec

    Zyrtec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Posts:
    534
    Location:
    USA

    After a year, it'll nag you. Whether renewing your license or not it's up to you, though.


    Hth
     
  13. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    Without "Experimental protection" is doesn't.
     
  14. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Right, but what's the plan? At some point there will be far more 64bit computers than 32bit, more so than now, and it won't really make sense to keep developing a 32bit-only project. So is it a matter of waiting for MS to implement some way to patch the kernel or are you just going to stick to banks running XP Pro?
     
  15. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    Thanks for the info. :D
    Updated to the latest beta, running smooth so far. :thumb:
     
  16. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    With "Experimental protection" it does.
     
  17. operamail

    operamail Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Posts:
    254
    Updated to the latest beta too, everything is ok so far. Looking forward to the 64bit version.
     
  18. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    The difference between a 64bit and a 32bit would be dealing with application level v kernel level API calls (I assume) but wouldn't this still be fairly secure? I mean, I don't really know much about DefenseWall and how it's implemented.
     
  19. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    The difference between x64 and x32 is about PatchGuard that do not allow to control certain functions safe way.
     
  20. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
  21. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I'm sure if Ilya could figure out a way to run a 64bit version he would. If he feels that it can't be secure as we wants, then let it be. It might be one thing that is preventing it from being complete. I love the monday morning quarter back attitude. If it's so easy, start writing some code and finish it for him. I'm sure he's more than capable to find a solution. I'm also sure that he's working on that solution.
     
  22. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    I'm curious how you know the x64 support in SBiE is "as safe" as the 32 bit version? A quick search of the SBiE FAQ and forum doesn't bring up any information about it, and according to someone else in this thread it's "experimental". To my mind "experimental" means "unproven".
     
  23. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks LoneWolf. Downloaded and installed final version of 3.17 in case there were additional changes to beta version.
     
  24. 1000db

    1000db Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Missouri
    I think that's Ilya's point also. I happen to agree. Experimental is fine for a test or play machine, but I wouldn't use an "experimental" program on my business machines. Not even one from a competent developer like Mr. Tzur.
     
  25. Rivalen

    Rivalen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Posts:
    413
    But whats "wrong" with experimental?

    Hope you feel the warm breeze blowing towards you from a community longing for DW 64 bit.

    Best Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.