Defensewall 3.0 goes Gold

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Threedog, Apr 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Ilya has just released Defensewall ver 3.

    Congrats on the release Ilya. I know you have put a lot of hard work into it. :thumb:

    http://www.softsphere.com/
     
  2. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,890
    Location:
    Canada
    yay;) :) let's celebrate:thumb: thanks ilya:thumb:
     
  3. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    So one of the toughest security solution is ready to show its muscles ...:D
     
  4. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    But i will use it next year...:(

    No license key...No money...:'(
     
  5. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    818
    Good glad to see it,but I never had problems with the beta at all. :thumb:
     
  6. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,232
    Location:
    USA
  7. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    723
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    A first class software with first class support. :thumb:
    Congratulations Ilya :)
     
  8. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Does the license key of v2.56 will work with v3o_O
     
  9. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    Yes, naturally. Just as I promised.
     
  10. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Thanks but does the license that I got from giveaway work:) coz when I tried to do so during DW Beta I encountered an error:blink:
     
  11. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    Ah, all the giveaway licenses are special as all the giveways builds are special. You need a regular license.
     
  12. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,972
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Ilya,
    I love your product and I was wondering if you could help. I've used ver3 RC2. When I try and open firefox it takes a good 6-8 seconds before it opens. Is this normal and is there anything that I can do to improve it?
     
  13. progress

    progress Guest

    How much is it? Maybe I'll give you a licence key as a birthday present :D
     
  14. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    I don't know what could be a cause. In fact, when I open FF, DW adds about two or three seconds. Anyway, I'd like to take a look at DW's logs exported.
     
  15. PC__Gamer

    PC__Gamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    526
    im waiting for 'the question' to be asked.....

    lol
     
  16. SafetyFirst

    SafetyFirst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Posts:
    462
    So, this is the final and stable release of DW v3?

    Can I install it over the 2.56 version (and if so, will it recognize and accept the old license key) or do I have to uninstall the old version first?

    Is it OK to run DW firewall component along with Online Armor (which I want to keep) or should I install just the HIPS part of DW and leave the firewall out?

    Please provide suggestions for optimal procedure.

    Thank you
     
  17. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    The web site leads one to believe that you can get just the DW hips without firewall but after download/install, I've got the firewall too. Can we have just the hips without firewall?
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2010
  18. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Just select DW's program menu from the system tray icon, then make your choice ;)
     
  19. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Optimal procedures is what you like: to be honest there is so much overlap between the two, that it is like using a belt and braces for holding up your trouser.

    Possible combo's
    - OA full with DW HIPS
    - disable OA program guard use DW HIPS only
    - disable OA HIPS use DW HIPS only
     
  20. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,153
    Location:
    Hawaii
    With OA's RunSafer, why use DW? I mean, DW is redundant with RunSafer in operation, isn't it? Also, wouldn't OA+DW generate quite a lot of system drag?
     
  21. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,630
    In this snapshot, I have 3 more, but only this combination. :D See screenshot.

    I haven't noticed any drag, but I do have "Mail Shield and "Web Shield" in OA not enabled. Also, I do not use OA's RunSafer, because I prefer to run as admin.
     

    Attached Files:

  22. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Well that is why I suggested: try them seperately

    Advantage of DW over OA with run safer
    - protects internet facing processes plus files downloaded by them (plus anything spawned from this)
    - less pop-ups
    - cheaper

    Advantage OA over DW
    - OA protects processes system wide


    I tested DWv3 with Matousec tests (previous versions) it is at least as good as OA. It is up to personal preference really.

    Regards Kees
     
  23. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    I don't think that it will be free birthday present from your side. :p

    Anyways i have already wrote a nice article on DefenseWall HIPS 3. You guys can read it from the trailing link below.

    http://technonxt.wordpress.com/2010/04/21/defensewall-3-0/
     
  24. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,972
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Nice little review there ash. Good work.
     
  25. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Thanks...BTW i like my new name "Ash"...:)

    Really DefenseWall HIPS is rock solid...I have tested it with more malware and everything got out of the system after a single click. Its really showing its muscles.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.