Defensewall 3.0 goes Gold

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Threedog, Apr 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Ilya has just released Defensewall ver 3.

    Congrats on the release Ilya. I know you have put a lot of hard work into it. :thumb:

    http://www.softsphere.com/
     
  2. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    yay;) :) let's celebrate:thumb: thanks ilya:thumb:
     
  3. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    So one of the toughest security solution is ready to show its muscles ...:D
     
  4. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    But i will use it next year...:(

    No license key...No money...:'(
     
  5. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    757
    Good glad to see it,but I never had problems with the beta at all. :thumb:
     
  6. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
  7. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    721
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    A first class software with first class support. :thumb:
    Congratulations Ilya :)
     
  8. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Does the license key of v2.56 will work with v3o_O
     
  9. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    Yes, naturally. Just as I promised.
     
  10. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Thanks but does the license that I got from giveaway work:) coz when I tried to do so during DW Beta I encountered an error:blink:
     
  11. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    Ah, all the giveaway licenses are special as all the giveways builds are special. You need a regular license.
     
  12. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Ilya,
    I love your product and I was wondering if you could help. I've used ver3 RC2. When I try and open firefox it takes a good 6-8 seconds before it opens. Is this normal and is there anything that I can do to improve it?
     
  13. progress

    progress Guest

    How much is it? Maybe I'll give you a licence key as a birthday present :D
     
  14. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    I don't know what could be a cause. In fact, when I open FF, DW adds about two or three seconds. Anyway, I'd like to take a look at DW's logs exported.
     
  15. PC__Gamer

    PC__Gamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    526
    im waiting for 'the question' to be asked.....

    lol
     
  16. SafetyFirst

    SafetyFirst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Posts:
    462
    So, this is the final and stable release of DW v3?

    Can I install it over the 2.56 version (and if so, will it recognize and accept the old license key) or do I have to uninstall the old version first?

    Is it OK to run DW firewall component along with Online Armor (which I want to keep) or should I install just the HIPS part of DW and leave the firewall out?

    Please provide suggestions for optimal procedure.

    Thank you
     
  17. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    The web site leads one to believe that you can get just the DW hips without firewall but after download/install, I've got the firewall too. Can we have just the hips without firewall?
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2010
  18. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Just select DW's program menu from the system tray icon, then make your choice ;)
     
  19. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Optimal procedures is what you like: to be honest there is so much overlap between the two, that it is like using a belt and braces for holding up your trouser.

    Possible combo's
    - OA full with DW HIPS
    - disable OA program guard use DW HIPS only
    - disable OA HIPS use DW HIPS only
     
  20. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    With OA's RunSafer, why use DW? I mean, DW is redundant with RunSafer in operation, isn't it? Also, wouldn't OA+DW generate quite a lot of system drag?
     
  21. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    In this snapshot, I have 3 more, but only this combination. :D See screenshot.

    I haven't noticed any drag, but I do have "Mail Shield and "Web Shield" in OA not enabled. Also, I do not use OA's RunSafer, because I prefer to run as admin.
     

    Attached Files:

  22. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Well that is why I suggested: try them seperately

    Advantage of DW over OA with run safer
    - protects internet facing processes plus files downloaded by them (plus anything spawned from this)
    - less pop-ups
    - cheaper

    Advantage OA over DW
    - OA protects processes system wide


    I tested DWv3 with Matousec tests (previous versions) it is at least as good as OA. It is up to personal preference really.

    Regards Kees
     
  23. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    I don't think that it will be free birthday present from your side. :p

    Anyways i have already wrote a nice article on DefenseWall HIPS 3. You guys can read it from the trailing link below.

    http://technonxt.wordpress.com/2010/04/21/defensewall-3-0/
     
  24. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Nice little review there ash. Good work.
     
  25. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Thanks...BTW i like my new name "Ash"...:)

    Really DefenseWall HIPS is rock solid...I have tested it with more malware and everything got out of the system after a single click. Its really showing its muscles.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.