Deep Freeze by Faronics

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by EASTER, Feb 14, 2021.

  1. Cache

    Cache Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Posts:
    445
    Location:
    Mercia
    Thanks to cs and others for the info re the cost of Deep Freeze. I'd probably give it a try if I didn't have a license for SD but I can't see it being any better for my needs.
     
  2. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    905
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    Salutations and Greetings,

    Deep Freeze Standard, do they have a Family Plan:)?


    Will Deep Freeze Standard protect the MBR:)?
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2022
  3. Izettso

    Izettso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Posts:
    91
  4. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,786
    DeepFreeze Standard does indeed protect the MBR.
     
  5. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    905
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    @LoneWolf
    Appreicate the information,Many Thanks!
    Still wondering if
    ,Deep Freeze Standard, has a Family Plan:)?
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2022
  6. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,831
    Location:
    .
    Anyone know the differences between Deep Freeze and Shadow Defender?
    Does DF use a driver?

    TIA
     
  7. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    11,126
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    To my knowledge they BOTH use a driver and for certain SD uses a Filter Driver neatly positioned to perform as well as it has for as long as it has to date. I recall Deep Freeze also uses a specialized driver or drivers that help set a separate partition-like array that on reboot drops all the writes to it from a former working session.

    There probably are some notable differences in the 2 virtualization programs that others can point out and exceptions.
     
  8. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,332
    Location:
    US
    Unless things have changed, in the past Deep Freeze needed to reboot in order to enter the "frozen" mode. Shadow Defender can enter "shadow" mode on the fly without need to reboot.
    Acadia
     
  9. Lagavulin16

    Lagavulin16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Posts:
    195
    Location:
    Emerald City
    Deep Freeze is better maintained in terms of updates and is the preferred choice with public libraries, universities, etc. Deep Freeze is sorely lacking in the GUI department compared to Shadow Defender.
    However, Deep Freeze excels at what it purports to do despite the lack of bells and whistles and a flashy GUI. I have a lifetime license with both apps (DF Standard) and appreciate the stability and reliability
    offered by Faronics.
     
  10. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    11,126
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    That looks accurate. Last time i ran Deep Freeze way back when it was required to reboot in order to enter and exit freeze mode.
    What everyone liked when Shadow Defender first came out was that feature to enter shadow-mode on the fly,
    and then only a reboot to lift out of it.
     
  11. Gaddster

    Gaddster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Posts:
    140
    Location:
    UK
    No.

    Deep Freeze has never been advertised or sold as a home product, which people oddly keep comparing Shadow Defender with Deep Freeze and I purchased Shadow Defender years ago but if I was running a business I'd go the Deep Freeze route every single time as that product is exactly what a business needs.

    I would never trust Shadow Defender in such an environment due to it having options like committing files / registry entries, exclusion lists etc and sure these are good for home users but on a business computer? Absolutely not as they could be exploited.
     
  12. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    11,126
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    True enough @Gaddster - Shadow Defender with those features "could" be viewed as a home user's novelty. With just enough programming applied in it's workings to safeguard a home user from common and not-so-common malware affecting it seriously. In addition it makes for a useful app tester on Windows platforms but i doubt you would get a business enterprise to choose it over a Faronic's Deep Freeze.

    In fact Faronic's has a very long many years solid track record and seems to hardly need much more of any update or improvements. The thing is ideal for business and library networking etc
     
  13. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    905
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
  14. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,831
    Location:
    .
    Deep Freeze Standard v.8.71.20.5734 (2023-08-24)
    Code:
    https://downloads.faronics.com/Install/Faronics_DFS.zip
    
     
  15. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    11,126
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    :thumb:
     
  16. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    1,281
    Location:
    sweden
    Anyone knows where to find a discount coupon for this soft?
    And, where to find the changelog?
     
  17. Space Ghost

    Space Ghost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Posts:
    199
    Location:
    Poland
  18. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    1,281
    Location:
    sweden
  19. Space Ghost

    Space Ghost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Posts:
    199
    Location:
    Poland
    Personally, I have only good experience with this software, if you have used a similar app before, you should have no problems adapting to Faronics Deep Freeze. Some features work a little differently than in e.g. Shadow Defender, but you can get used to it. When you buy Deep Freeze Standard from the European Union, its price is for now €49.36 + Tax.
     
  20. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    1,281
    Location:
    sweden
    I was thinking in terms of, if you have used it these latest years, how it have worked during that period since the updates are, well, not frequent.

    I bought Shadow Defender some year or so ago even though it had not updated for some time, later on it was abandoned.
    Buy this now and have a flawed soft on my hands within a year, for some years, does not appeal to me.
     
  21. Space Ghost

    Space Ghost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Posts:
    199
    Location:
    Poland
    I've been using this app for over a year now and haven't had any problem with it during that time. The license is subscription based, so the company (It's a well known company, not some unknown person) should care about customer satisfaction. You have to decide for yourself, because as usual, the future is unknown.
     
  22. matra

    matra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    Germany
    I can't find any details about the license. Is the license unusable after a year or do you just no longer get updates?
    matra
     
  23. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,786
    I've been using DeepFreeze for quite some time.
    Software still fully functional just no updates.
     
  24. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    1,281
    Location:
    sweden
    Ok. Well, i have used it a while now but it is to limited for my purposes. I want something that i can reboot with and the installed items survive until i actively remove them by going out of the "freeze" mode.
     
  25. Arcanez

    Arcanez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Posts:
    417
    Location:
    Event Horizon
    been using Deepfreeze and Anti-Executable for several years without issue and have not switched to any other security solution since. If Data Igloo is set correctly, there are also no issues with Data loss whatsoever.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.