database updates

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by gymeejet, Sep 2, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gymeejet

    gymeejet Guest

    hi, i used to get my updates directly from the program. it now tells me to come here, but i can not find it. what is the procedure now for updating one's database ?
    thanks. :) ;)
     
  2. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,878
    Location:
    New England
    Hi gymeejet,

    Which Javacool program are you talking about? There was a recent program update for SpywareGuard, v2.2, did you get that yet?
     
  3. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi gymeejet,

    If it is SpywareGuard you can download it from here:
    http://www.wilderssecurity.net/spywareguard.html

    If it is one of the other Javacool programs You will find links to them at the top of that site.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  4. gymeejet

    gymeejet Guest

    hi guys,
    it is spywareblaster to which i was referring. the program redirects me to the spyware blaster site.

    http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster.html

    i have the latest 2.6 version. there are 4 download sites for the program itself. but i still can not find where to get the data base updates. it tells me that the latest date is 8-22-03, but i have nothing to click. i haven't been able to update since june. :'(
    thanks, jimmy
     
  5. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,878
    Location:
    New England
    Can you tell us exactly where in the program it directs you to the website and at which point and in which window? See the image below showing a normal check for updates (when no updates are available).

    Version 2.6 ought to be able to get the updates fine unless it's being blocked some how. Can you give us a screen image showing the message?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. gymeejet

    gymeejet Guest

    hi Low,
    it would not allow me to cut and paste. it just said that this updater could not get the database - and directed me to this url.

    so i deleted the whole folder with all the spyware blaster stuff, and then reloaded it. now it works correctly from the program.

    when i downloaded the newer version, it must have gotten confused with the older version.

    anyways, it works now. :D
    thanks.
     
  7. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,878
    Location:
    New England
    Great! I'm glad you got it straightened out! :)
     
  8. Gaz

    Gaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Posts:
    32
    I think it must be the message, "there is a new version out".

    Which does send you to <a href="http://www.wilderssecurity.net">www.wildersecurity.net spyware blaster page.</a>
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.