Database Error with Definition: 5/23/2005

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by Aligato, May 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Aligato

    Aligato Guest

    Hi,

    I clicked on "check for updates" to update Spyware Blaster 3.4 database to
    the latest definition: 5/23/2005.

    The download was successful, however, new protection was not
    able to be activated. A database error occured.

    What seems to be the problem?
     
  2. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,017
    Hi,

    Could you please post some more details about your system?

    Specifically:
    -What version of Windows you are using
    -What anti-virus program(s) you are using, if any
    -What firewall program(s) you are using, if any
    -What other anti-spyware program(s) you are using, if any
    -What other privacy or security program(s) you are using, if any

    Thanks! :)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  3. MRaffles

    MRaffles Guest

    I have also the same problem.
    I use Windows 2000 Japanese with all recent updates.
    Spywareblaster 3.3 worked well and no error on my system. I am sure, my other programs (antivirus, firewall, etc.) don't cause the problem.
    Waiting for hints or fix.
     
  4. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,017
    While I appreciate that it may be unlikely that any other program is causing the issue, could you please post the information I requested above? It'll help me narrow down any possible similarities between systems that exhibit this issue. :) Thanks!

    EDIT: Also, could anyone experiencing updating issues please send your "sbdatabase2.dtb" file to bugreports@javacoolsoftware.com ? (The file should be located in your SpywareBlaster directory, which is, by default, C:\Program Files\SpywareBlaster)

    Also, please ensure that your firewall allows SpywareBlaster net access. And if you have any proxies set up, try disabling them temporarily as well.

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  5. shek

    shek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    342
    Location:
    SE CHINA/NYC USA
    same problem as Aligato has.
    after today's update, a database error shows up, although the spywareblaster said the update was successful.

    windows xp sp2 with all the updates.
    spywareblaster 3.4
    real-time software: antivir personal classic, mj registry watcher, jetico fw, process guard 3.15 free, opera 8.0

    on-demand software: escan toolkit utility 4.47, spybot SD 1.3, ad-aware SE,

    all the softwares are up-to-date.
     
  6. Aligato

    Aligato Guest

  7. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,896
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I updated with no problems at all.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. shek

    shek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    342
    Location:
    SE CHINA/NYC USA
    Aligato's solution doesn't fix my problem. :mad:

    javacool--

    i have already sent the email to you as request.
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2005
  9. Windowgood

    Windowgood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Hi,
    I have the same problem as Aligato's, and thanks for his solution that works for me :D

    Details about my system:
    -WindowsXP Pro
    -Norton Internet security 2005, which includes both anti-virus and firewall programs
    -Real-time program: Ad-Watch (bundled with Ad-Aware SE Pro), WinPatrol
    -On-demand program: Spybot S&D, Yahoo Anti-Spy

    I once had the same problem with the previous version, and it was solved after I manually copied the definition files to the SB's folder. But this time I couldn't find the definition files on Javacool's website.

    ---
    Thanks
    Person Chiu
     
  10. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,017
    Hi,

    Could you please e-mail me as well? (at bugreports@javacoolsoftware.com)

    In the e-mail please mention:
    -A link to this thread
    -Your username on these forums

    Thanks! :)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  11. Windowgood

    Windowgood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Hi Javacool,
    Since I have replaced the original file with the one Aligato provided, it may no longer contain the data you need. However, I found another similar file "sbdatabase2.dtb.temp" Hope it helps.

    Thanks for your great program that protects regular users like me. Let me know if you need any further information.

    ---
    Regards
    Person Chiu
     
  12. TheBFG

    TheBFG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Japan
    I had the same problem as the original poster
    I changed the update to use alternative update source.. then no problem
    Using Widows XP sp1 Japanese version
    Zone Alarm Free firewall
     
  13. shek

    shek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    342
    Location:
    SE CHINA/NYC USA
    TheBFG--

    thank you for your help. it works.
     
  14. MarkH

    MarkH Guest

    When I run 3.4 with XP/SP2 after I restart my system, it reports that 209 IE items have protection disabled with 3543 total items in the database. If I enable all protection, the 209 goes to 0 and remains there through subsequent invocations of 3.4. However, if I restart the system, then 3.4 again reports that 209 IE items have protection disabled.

    Tried uninstall/reinstall etc. problem still persists.

    Best Regards,

    Mark
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. AAQQ101
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    373
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.