Data Backup Error Message of "Specified File Does Not Exist"

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ajergo, Apr 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ajergo

    ajergo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    I am using Acronis True Image Home 2009 with Win XP Home.
    I am doing a Data Backup where I specify which Folders and Files to back up.
    It comes back with an error message during the backup (can see on the Log afterwards also) that says: "Failed to backup file or folder".|Specified file does not exist.: None". Module 4 Error Code 17 :(
    That is all the info it gives me.
    How the heck am I suppose to figure out which file or folder it is having problems backing up? o_O
    Appreciate any help that anybody can supply.

    Thanks,
    A.J.
     
  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Suggest you make sure that the disk's file system is in good shape first. Do a chkdsk X: /f on the partition containing the files. Replace the X with the drive letter of the partition being tested. If it is C it will likely want to reboot.
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    ajergo,

    Could you please clarify where the source folders are placed (whether they are on internal, external, or network hard drive)? Also what is the size of the source files?

    Acronis True Image can run out of system resources on the machine when backing up thousands of files. As a workaround, try running separate backup tasks, so that the amount of files in a onetime backup will be reduced.

    Are you able to perform a manual backup (instead of scheduled task)?

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  4. Martinus

    Martinus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Posts:
    29
    TI 2009 build 9709

    I am having the same issue.

    From the log file.
    "Failed to backup file or folder ".|Specified file does not exist.:None"

    This does happen when I click on the Documents category. I tried clicking on a single file from this category, and had the same error when starting the backup.

    Hope this help a little.

    Martin

    P.S. Jedi mind trick: Do a 64bit of TI2009.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Martin,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    Do you experience the issue only with the files located at the Documents category? Are you able to backup a folder located, for example, at the root?

    Could you please let us know the exact path to this file?

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  6. mitrajoon

    mitrajoon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    I'm having the exact same problem. I deleted a folder a week ago and now everytime Acronis runs a data backup, it stops and says "can't not find xx folder". I have to click on "ignore" and then it proceeds with the back up.
     
  7. Martinus

    Martinus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Posts:
    29

    Hello Oleg,

    Yes, I get the issue with the files located in the Documents Category.

    The first time I created a backup, I checked the Documents box to select all files and folders in that category and got the error.

    Then I tried just a single file by clicking in the detail list of files and folders and still got the error. :blink:

    The file in question I tried is img001.jpp. The full path of this file is c:\Users\Martin\Documents\img001.jpg

    If I can help more, tell me what to do.

    Martin.

    PS. Jedi mind trik try #2, make a 64bit version of TI2009
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    mitrajoon,

    Please download Acronis Scheduler, which is a special utility to update the scheduler service. Th link is available here, reboot the computer to complete the changes and see if the issue remains.

    If this doesn't help, you can set Silent mode in Default options (Tools -> Options -> Default backup options -> Error handling -> Do not show messages and dialogs while processing). Re-create the task and check the functionality of the program.

    Martin ,

    Please update the scheduler service too. Also, could you please clarify the following? Are you able to backup the entire system partition? Does any error message appear during the partition backup?

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  9. Martinus

    Martinus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Posts:
    29
    Hello Oleg,

    Yes I am able to do a complete system backup and without any errors.

    Martin


     
  10. Chef32

    Chef32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    Hello together!

    A friend of me has got the same problem like the other users in this thread. He is able to do a complete backup of his harddisk or only a backup of his Operating system. But the problem is, he is not abel to do a backup of his own files, which are in the path "c:\documents and settings\....". What can be the problem? He will test the solution with the update of the program and he will check his harddisk, too. But what is, when the porblem is still there?

    I hope that someone can help me! Thank you!

    By the way: He uses "Acronis True Image 2009 Home". And his OS is Windwos Vista.
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Martin and Chef32,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    To give the issue a closer investigation please obtain the following files and submit a request to Acronis Customer Central here

    1) 1. Download the file ;
    2. Run the downloaded file.
    The gathered information will be put in adv_report.zip in the same folder, where the AcronisInfo was saved.
    Running AcronisInfo may take up to 5 minutes.

    2) 1. Download Process Monitor and run it;
    2. Reproduce the issue without closing the utility;
    3. Click File ->Save in the main Process Monitor window; please save the file very quickly, this will help to reduce the size of the file;
    4. Select All events and save the log file in the PML, CSV or XML format and send it to us.

    Please note that to reduce the size of Process Monitor file the issue should be reproduced immediately after initializing the Process Monitor utility.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  12. loriwaukee

    loriwaukee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    I am having the same problem. I have attempted to follow the suggestions that I saw above, but with no success (I think I may have not followed them correctly- for example, When i extracted the files for the scheduler, I did not know where to extract them to. I extracted them to my desktop and then tried to run them, but don't know if it worked).

    I am running Vista and Acronis True Image Home 2009. I can create a full data backup, but not incremental back ups (I receive the "specfied file does not exist message)

    Below is a log that I saved of my most recent attempt:

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
    <log build="9646" product="Acronis*True*Image*Home" task="71272380-1D67-4513-BABA-7603C22BB22D" task_name="My Data Backup1" uuid="6DEAEE55-A733-4EC5-9EC9-837CF82C44A7" version="12.0">
    <event code="2" id="1" level="2" message="Operation My Data Backup1 started." module="100" time="1249568990" />
    <event code="17" id="2" level="4" message="Failed to backup file or folder ''.
    Specified file does not exist.: None" module="4" time="1249569007" />
    <event code="1004" id="3" level="4" message=" (0xB03EC)
    Tag = 0x65E40AA0B487178" module="11" time="1249569009" />
    <event code="5" id="4" level="4" message="Operation has completed with errors." module="100" time="1249569009" />
    </log>
     
  13. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello loriwaukee,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    Actually, the issue should be resolved in the following way:

    You should run the bat file available here

    Extract the downloaded file, run install.bat and wait for the process to be completed. Reboot the computer.

    After that unregister the tasks and restart Acronis scheduler.

    - Download a special Acronis utility;
    - Start the Command Prompt from Start -> Programs -> Accessories menu;
    - Run the following commands in the folder you saved the file to:

    schedmgr task zap
    schedmgr service stop
    schedmgr service uninstall
    schedmgr service install
    schedmgr service start

    This should delete all Acronis tasks on the PC. Create the new tasks and see if the issue remains.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  14. loriwaukee

    loriwaukee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Thank you for your reply. According to your instructions, after running the bat file and restarting my computer, I am supposed to::

    " unregister the tasks and restart Acronis scheduler".


    What do you mean by "unregister the tasks"?
     
  15. Martinus

    Martinus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Posts:
    29
    Hello Oleg,

    Sorry for the very late update. I updated the scheduler and stopped having this issue. Just to let you know.

    Martin
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.