Daily backup won't run if manually run first

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by csguser, Dec 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. csguser

    csguser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Acronis True Image Enterprise Server Version 8.0 (Build 1,158 ). We have Daily backups scheduled to run at say 11:00pm. They work fine unless you run the backup in the day anytime before the scheduled time. If you run it earlier manually, when the scheduled time rolls around, it won't run. Is this the way it's supposed to work? I would like the program to initiate the backup at the time set regardless of wether the backup was run earlier in the day. The reason I have to run the backup in the morning is because the software failed to run the night before. Then I have to wait 38 hours or so before the next days backup will run automatically. Could someone post if they have any info on this.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2005
  2. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    This "Feature" also applies to TI 9 V2323. Not a great problem but annoying.

    Xpilot
     
  3. MKairys

    MKairys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Posts:
    309
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    A good reason to use the Windows scheduler and run TI from a batch file.
     
  4. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    Running the scheduled backup via a batch file in the Windows Task Scheduler is certainly a viable option and I appreciate your comment on this. I have done it and it seems to work well. Setting up a batch file is something that many users will not be familiar with tho. Additionally, if this approach is implemented a user might have to be prepared to tweak (baby sit) the batch file when later builds are released. I have enough trouble getting people to update their antivirus software let alone write or modify a batch file.

    If in fact a repeatable situation exists where running it manually creates a situation where the backup will not run at the next scheduled event, this should be fixable in the very near future. I don't recall ever having this occur in True Image 8, any of several builds.

    In any event this needs to be fixed as it reflects negatively on the product. Personally I like your idea.

    Bruce
     
  5. btimms

    btimms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Posts:
    44
    A quick look throught the manual doesn't show me how to issue command lines as would be used through a batch file. Is there anything available on this or is it in the manual and I'm missing it?

    Bob
     
  6. MKairys

    MKairys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Posts:
    309
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    It's possible although not documented; see here.
     
  7. csguser

    csguser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    At what point does TI reset something so the program knows to run the backup again? Is it when the date changes, or is it a time settings? Also, what is reset or what is changed to allow the daily setting to run again. Maybe we could reset a file that would allow the daily to run again as scheduled. Should I delete the log entry after running manually??
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2005
  8. csguser

    csguser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Does anyone know of a way to make the Daily backup run at scheduled time even if you have run it earlier in the day??
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.