Cybergenic Shade-sandbox tool

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by co22, Oct 4, 2015.

  1. CoolWebSearch

    CoolWebSearch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,246
    With a bit more configuration with Sandboxie you can block just about everything you want.
     
  2. CoolWebSearch

    CoolWebSearch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,246
    Sorry, for not being very smart about this, but what do you mean by "Shade is packed by VMProtect software"?
    How exactly is this working?
     
  3. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    4,049
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    imagine Shade as Emsisoft using BD engine; they don't create their virtualization mechanism , i think they use the one of VMprotect and modify it to fit their concept.
     
  4. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    9,869
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes that's what I said, but I prefer to use third party tools. I only use the data protection feature from SBIE.
     
  5. CoolWebSearch

    CoolWebSearch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,246
    Again sorry for not being too smart what to do you mean "BD" engine, do you mean "BitDefender" engine?
    Big thanks in advance.
     
  6. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    4,049
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    yes , just to show a similar approach , of course BD has nothing to do with Shade ;)
     
  7. Ilya

    Ilya Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Posts:
    15
    @CoolWebSearch, @umbrapolaris
    Nope, we use VMProtect only against reverse engineering, and for product activation!
     
  8. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    4,049
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    Oh ok. thank you for the clarification.
     
  9. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    513
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    Any conflicts with other security software, for example Comodo Firewall or Shadow Defender?
    Or Dr.Web Security Space! Anybody?
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,297

    Just curious. Which version of VMProtect do you use.
     
  11. Ilya

    Ilya Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Posts:
    15
    Ultimate 2.x
     
  12. Ilya

    Ilya Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Posts:
    15
    Hi Folks,
    New version of Cybergenic Shade has been released! Now Shade runs much faster and consumes much less of CPU and memory resources. Current users will get new version through automatic updates shortly, new may download it from www.shadesandbox.com
    We wish you zero security incidents!
     
  13. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,206
    Location:
    USA
    Is this compatible with my current setup? signature below
     
  14. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    4,049
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    it is just a sandbox , so it should
     
  15. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,622
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    Thanks for the info...I'll try it :)
     
  16. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    389
    Location:
    sweden

    Downloaded it and tried to open the exe, got - : runtime error at (at - 1:0): ..... .
    This is really a shady product indeed, so far.
     
  17. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,206
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks Umbra
     
  18. First try: no activation key, de-installed
    Second chance: received activation key: service not activated (re-booted twice), de-installed (again)
     
  19. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    4,049
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    i didn't pass the first try and don't even get the 2nd chance :D
     
  20. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2,938
    Location:
    Mexico
    Hmm, this company is not doing well. And I was considering a trial of this software.
     
  21. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    9,869
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    What's with this activation key thing? Do they actually want people to test this tool? I suggest to the developers to scrap this.
     
  22. PaleDark

    PaleDark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Posts:
    55
    Question: May I know how do I uninstall Shades?
    I couldn't find it inside the Add/ Remove Program in the Control Panel nor there is uninstall button at all.
     
  23. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    6,531
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    :thumb:

    A lot of first signs of trouble if those results are evident.
     
  24. PaleDark

    PaleDark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Posts:
    55
    Hi all,
    just bump to get a response :p
     
  25. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,726
    Location:
    .
Loading...