Cyberfox

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Krusty, Mar 12, 2016.

  1. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    165
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    No problems here with update.
     
  2. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    3,793
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I've had this on two machines this morning.

    Cyberfox Error.PNG
     
  3. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    246
    Dead. Why try beating a dead horse?
    Just like all of my favorite programs.
     
  4. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    1,604
    Sounds like a bad download. Delete and download a fresh copy and try to install again.
     
  5. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    1,604
    Weird. Zemana Anti-Malware saw CF 52.1.0 as malware and deleted the file. I had to restore it from quarantine and I ran to install it twice.

    I've never seen a browser upgrade flagged as malware before! :eek:
     
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    3,793
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Windows Smart Screen flagged it too. I think that might have been part of my issue, along with Avast checking it out.
     
  7. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    3,793
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    As we say in Australia, it ain't over 'til the fat lady sings.
     
  8. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    1,604
    A false positive. I'm running the updated version and I see no problems.
     
  9. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    3,793
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Yeah, it installed the second time I tired on one machine but I ended up downloading the installer on the second machine. Both up and running CF 52.1 happily now.
     
  10. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,972
    Location:
    England
    Not exactly a browser upgrade, but ZAM flagged the last Macrium Relect patch as malware and quarantined it. I sent report via the Zemana GUI and 20 minutes later had an email saying it had now been whitelisted.
     
  11. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,825
    Location:
    Outer space
    It is probably getting flagged because it no longer has a digital signature:
    https://8pecxstudios.com/Forums/viewtopic.php?f=6&p=11800#p11800

    My own thoughts: If you can MitM the connection or attack the website and replace the installer with something malicious, then you can also replace the hash with the hash for the new file.
     
  12. mood

    mood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,761
    I have downloaded the portable version and it was not digitally signed. Now i know why.
    But as long as they are providing hashes, this isn't really a problem (except for some AVs which are flagging it as malicious)
     
  13. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    1,604
    Comodo blocked it and ran it in virtual mode so I had to unblock it and reinstall it.

    Gets annoying and Boeren is probably right it wasn't digitally signed.

    Solution is to add CF to your AV and malware software exclusion list.