Cut-and-paste in the serial number during install does not work

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ErikAlbert, Jul 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Re: Acronis True Image WISH-LIST thread

    This post is dated on 2005.10.30 and I still can't copy/paste my serial number during install.
    That was a half year ago, I'm using build 3677 and it's still not fixed.
    Does Acronis Support actually read this wish-list o_O
     
  2. John2222

    John2222 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    140
    Re: Acronis True Image WISH-LIST thread

    I just installed 3677 and I pasted by serial number (which I had saved in a txt file from a previous version install) during the 3677 install just fine.

    Did you use capital letters for your letters of the serial number? I did, but that is the only thing I can think of. I have XP/SP2.
     
  3. jeremyotten

    jeremyotten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Posts:
    684
    Re: Acronis True Image WISH-LIST thread

    Copy paste doesn't work!

    but CTRL-C (COPY) CTRL-V(PASTE) does work ;-)
     
  4. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Re: Acronis True Image WISH-LIST thread

    I think all keys have capital letters, including mine.
    I copy/pasted it from a MS Word-file. Next time I will copy/paste it from a notepad-file. ATI is the only exception on my computer.

    The Rescue CD has also a problem. My AZERTY-keyboard acts like a QWERTY-keyboard. So I have difficulties to find some letters and special characters to type the name of a backup-file.
    There are also other problems with the Rescue CD, like using wrong drive letters and telling me I have SCSI-system, which is not true.
     
  5. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    As the Acronis Wish list thread is for suggestons and not discussion....this thread was created in order to continue this discussion.
     
  6. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Re: Acronis True Image WISH-LIST thread

    I will try that one too, but that is a very OLD-FASHIONED copy/paste method, when there was no mouse LOL.
     
  7. jerryray

    jerryray Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    New user here.

    It does not work for me either.

    Pasted to notepad first, still did not work.

    Good thing We don't need to do this often..
     
  8. Jbmoar

    Jbmoar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Posts:
    112
    Location:
    San Jose,Costa Rica
    Re: Acronis True Image WISH-LIST thread

    It Is Possibe To Copy Your Serial Number From A Text File Or Your Saved Email Using Your Mouse By Selecting The SN Text To Be Copied Using Your Mouse But To Paste Within The Acronis SN Box You Need To Use The Keyboard CTRL+V Command.
     
  9. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Re: Acronis True Image WISH-LIST thread

    Nobody copy/pastes a text like that anymore. People used that method in the Dark Ages, when the mouse wasn't invented yet. :)
     
  10. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Re: Acronis True Image WISH-LIST thread

    Maybe we shouldn't need it but the reality is that I have come across text boxes in various applications and web pages where CTRL+V is the only way to do a paste.
     
  11. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Re: Acronis True Image WISH-LIST thread

    So what. That method is history and it's almost ridiculous that a software of 2006 still uses that method. :rolleyes:
     
  12. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    control + c and v is the only way I copy/paste :D I;ve always found it much faster.
     
  13. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    It doesn't matter, because that method will disappear anyway, but I'm surprised that modern software still use it. I guess the programmers of ATI don't know how to program a copy/paste with a mouse. They probably grew up with a pc without a mouse, just like me.
     
  14. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    Me too
     
  15. Rick59

    Rick59 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Westchester, N.Y.
    Re: Acronis True Image WISH-LIST thread

    Forewarned is forearmed ....
    Thanks for the heads up, and it worked.
     
  16. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    LOL ! It will when they pry the keyboard from my cold dead fingers !

    Mouse usage is so inefficient compard to keyboard usage, I think some of you guys are just mousaphiliacs !

    Seriously, how can anyone be passionate about whether one opts to use the mouse or the keyboard for a given task ? Get a life!;) It's not because you use a keyboard that you are a Neanderthal and using a mouse does not make you Mr. Spock.

    Anyways, I've done it about anyway I can think of, mouse only, keyboard only, or (and usually) a mixture of the two but always from a pdf file with text selection activated. Never had one problem with it.

    BTW, the thread is misnamed. Who would want to CUT their serial number from it's source to paste into the install ?:cautious:

    ETA: Correction - at one time I was uninstalling and reinstalling ATI so frequently that I put both my ATI 8 and ATI 9 upgrade serials numbers in an ascii txt file so that I could copy and paste independent of having Adobe Acrobat Reader installed -- I never had problems no matter how I did that either.

    It's a curious problem -- has it to do with rich text, vs. unicode, vs. whatever ?
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2006
  17. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    I haven't had a problem saving the serial number to a notepad txt file and then copying and CTRL-V pasting in to Acronis.

    sh

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.