Customer Service Problem -- Registration is no good!

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by CentralTx, Oct 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CentralTx

    CentralTx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Well I don't know if this is something that others are having problems with but here's my story. Purchased TI8 from Fry's on 9/17/05 and tried to load software on son's computer. Installation program failed when registration key was input -- "next" button was grayed-out and routine would not proceed.

    Decided to follow info in forum and FAQ site and created account and input registration key hoping to get access to latest build for TI8. Guess what -- key came back as version 6. Here's what Customer Service writes back after a couple days ---

    The cause of your issue most likely considers to that serial number. It may be invalid. Could you please provide us with your and your son's serial numbers and with any confirmation of your purchase (it may be a scanned copy or a digital photo of the receipt or order confirmation e-mail)?

    We will check these serial numbers and probably provide you with free upgrade to 9.0 version if you want it. If your son's serial number will be not valid for 8.0 version you will need to contact Fry and ask for valid number from them or you can request a refund from then and purchase this software from us directly.

    We are looking forward to hearing back from you at your earliest convenience and we are always at your service should you have any further questions.

    Thank you.
    --
    Best regards,
    Kirill Omelchenko

    Sent scan of receipt to Kirill and told him that this is Acronis's problem to deal with and that Fry's for sure will not accept opened software for return. Have not heard from Kirill -- surely this is a no brainer, get to whomever and send me a valid registration key. I'm becoming very leery about this purchase and product by the day.:mad:
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello CentralTx,

    We are really sorry for the inconveniences. Please let me know your Acronis request # which was sent to you in autoreply to your letter to Acronis Support Team. I will see your letter and try to help you.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  3. CentralTx

    CentralTx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Irina,

    Here are the numbers -- first was 387721 & second was 388748. The second has my scanned receipt attached and my reply to Kirill concerning Fry's.

    Any help on your part is appreciated -- this seems to simple to cause this much fustratation.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello CentralTx,

    I have found your letters and Kirill will reply to it soon (for 1-2 hours).

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  5. CentralTx

    CentralTx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Irina,

    Kirill did send me a registration number but it was for Version 9, not Version 8 which I purchased. I need one for 8, I'm not going to upgrade to 9 until later.

    If and when I get a number for TI8, will I be able to use it to install from the CD or should I download the latest build for 8 and install ito_O I assume that since I registered the number for 9, I'll be able download that version when it is more stable?? This is a headache, please help asap.
     
  6. CentralTx

    CentralTx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Irina,

    Kirill sent me a registration number that is an upgrade for version 8. What is thiso_O Do I have to install the latest version 6 build from your download site, then try to install it using the improper registration key (which was supplied in the retail box for version 8 but seems to be for version 6), and then download latest build for 8 and upgrade it using the number that was just suppliedo_O WOW!

    What good is the Version 8 CD that came in the retail box?? A coaster?? Do I have the procedure correct??

    Please Helppp!!

    I'm just trying to help my son backup his computer so that Dad doesn't have to drive several hundred miles to help if and when the thing crashes.


    P.S. I'm glad that I use an Xterme Drive (5 in 1) from Coolmax to do all of my image backups -- does OS, programs and data on a hard drive with speedy restores.
     
  7. David Campen

    David Campen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    My recent experience installing V7 (download of latest full V7) was that when I gave it my V7 upgrade key it then asked for my previous version (V6) key. V6 was not installed at the time. So, I would guess that you will not need to have V6 installed.

    Yeah, the CD can be used as a coaster.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.