Custom-made ThreatFire Rules

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by metalforlife, Apr 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. metalforlife

metalforlife Registered Member

If I create write-permission restricting rules (to system directories and registry) in ThreatFire for my internet facing apps., would I need softwares like CMF, AppGuard, Sandboxie to protect me from being victimized by exploitation of software bugs?

A couple more questions -

When should I construct a "create" restriction rule and when should I construct a "write" restriction rule? And,
    If I create a "network access" rule, across the system, would it act as an outbound filter?

Thanks

I am a complete novice at all this, so I find it very confusing

Last edited: Apr 11, 2009
  2. andyman35

andyman35 Registered Member

A user here by the name of Kees1958 wrote a very detailed tutorial on rule creation in Threatfire,just have a hunt around for it.;)

3. Kees1958

Kees1958 Registered Member

4. Blackcat

Blackcat Registered Member

Interesting. I assume that this is not just for Threatfire, Kees but also for other HIPS/behaviour blockers who monitor the registry.

Therefore you would not now advise running AG/EGS and TF?

5. metalforlife

Thanks. That would certainly help me in setting up my ThreatFire.

Could you answer my questions, as well?

6. Kees1958

1. No not all, Malware Defender is okay, Defensewall is ok, CIS is ok, so can't proove that (only problem with TF)

2. Yes do not run TF in combo with EdGuardSolo/AppGuard, use strip my rights instead or Software Restriction Policy options for business editions of XP (XP Pro and higher, Vista business and higher)

Regards Kees

Last edited: Apr 12, 2009
  7. Kees1958

A create restriction rule for All Users, Username programs startup folder, a write restriction to OS systemfiles and Windows32 directory