Crystal Security - Discussion

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by kardokristal, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,090
    Location:
    Estonia
    Hi @siketa,

    Thanks for the feedback.

    Can you please tell me which engine detected file and what is the hash of file?

    Also if possible please send detected file via PM.

    Thanks in advance. :)

    Regards,
    Kardo
     
  2. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,090
    Location:
    Estonia
  3. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,090
    Location:
    Estonia
  4. askmark

    askmark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Posts:
    365
    Location:
    united kingdom
    Hi

    I am trying your software for first time and have downloaded and run the portable version.

    While the program is running I'm experiencing a constant 45-50% cpu usage in task manager.

    Is this normal as it seems very high to me?
     
  5. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,090
    Location:
    Estonia
    Hi @askmark,

    Thank you for the feedback.

    Is it possible that Checkup was running when you monitored CPU usage? When it is on standby then CPU usage should be low.

    Please send me your Settings.xml file via PM or e-mail. You can find Settings file under AppData folder.

    Regards,
    Kardo
     
  6. askmark

    askmark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Posts:
    365
    Location:
    united kingdom
    Hi Kardo

    I did some more testing and discovered the high cpu only occurs when 'stealth guard' is enabled. Toggling it on and off causes the cpu to rise and lower accordingly.

    Can you please explain to me how Crystal Security is meant to work, as I get the prompts to allow or block programs after they have already executed, which seem to defeat the point of stopping malware. For example if I start Notepad, Notepad.exe opens before I get a prompt to allow it to run. If I choose to block it then it closes the Notepad window. Is that normal behavior?

    Regards
    Mark
     
  7. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,090
    Location:
    Estonia
    Hi @askmark

    Thank you for the feedback. Sorry about late reply.
    Interesting. I enabled Stealth Guard and no such high CPU usage here. CPU usage is between 0% to 4%.

    Is there any other security software installed?
    Yes. It is by design. Active protection analysis created/modified files, launched processes and accessed files. You can enable/disable each monitor under Settings.

    When malware is detected then it is blocked automatically. When Stealth Guard is enabled then only Trusted Items are allowed to launch. Any newly created file is flagged as unknown blocked by default. You can exclude any new file manually via Settings (under Stealth Guard section).

    Stealth Guard can help to increase protection against 0-day malware.

    I hope it helps. :)
    Hi @SHvFl,

    Heuristic analysis is based on byte detection (signature). Each signature may detect multiple malware (e.g. when new malware is only a little bit modified).

    In Checkup mode uses also Properties based detection to pick-up any suspicious file which will be then analyzed with all engines. :)

    Regards,
    Kardo
     
  8. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,090
    Location:
    Estonia
    Hello,

    Crystal Security 3.5.0.190 released

    Changelog
    • Added new icon
    • Added "Location" to notifications
    • Added "White-list directory" to notifications
    • Updated notifications (structure)
    • Updated default action for "Suspicious" and "Unknown" files
    • Updated "Settings" section
    • Fixed several reported bugs

    Screenshots

    1) New icon

    icon.png

    2) Safe notification

    safe.png

    3) Advanced options

    options.png

    4) Unsafe notification

    unsafe.png

    Two different types of downloads

    Download installer version of Crystal Security 3.5.0.190
    Download portable version of Crystal Security 3.5.0.190

    Looking forward to your feedback. :)

    Regards,
    Kardo
     
  9. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,151
    Location:
    .
    text cutoff
    Whitelist does not satisfy Norton LiveUpdate
    CS crash
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2016
  10. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    747
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Hi Kardo,

    I tried using the msi but was informed that I already had Crystal installed. I checked in programs/features and Geek but nothing there, so started using the portable. I usually uninstall using Geek.

    Any ideas as to why this happened? Is there an advantage to installing over portable?
     
  11. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,090
    Location:
    Estonia
    Hi @bjm_,
    Text cut-off issue is known bug and currently there is no fix but I hope that I can fix it ASAP.
    Please send me your Whitelist.xml file (which is located under AppData directory) via PM or e-mail.
    Send log files via PM or e-mail. :)
    Hi @langh,

    Hmm. Maybe there are some registry keys. Probably your custom uninstall tool failed to uninstall program properly.

    Currently you can use portable version. You can use all features like in installer version. :)

    Regards,
    Kardo
     
  12. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,090
    Location:
    Estonia
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2016
  13. Secondmineboy

    Secondmineboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Posts:
    100
    Location:
    Germany
    What did you improve exactly on Ransomware Protection? :)
     
  14. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,090
    Location:
    Estonia
    Hi @Secondmineboy,

    Heuristic engine can detect many ransomware now. It is also good in offline mode (when cloud engine is not enabled). :)

    Regards,
    Kardo
     
  15. guest

    guest Guest

    Or a way to consider a few selected engines from VT and not all of them
     
  16. askmark

    askmark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Posts:
    365
    Location:
    united kingdom
    @kardokristal A potential bug: I find that when I scan a file using the shell extension I receive the same notification popup up to four times! After playing with the settings I managed to stop it happening by toggling the four scan engines off and on and applying the settings. If I reset the settings to default, the duplicate popup come back.
     
  17. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,090
    Location:
    Estonia
    Hi @SHvFl,

    Thanks for your suggestion.

    Currently there is no such feature. The only way is to disable notifications for unknown files or let auto decision to allow unknown files automatically. Your suggested feature is useful and probably I will add in the near future. I will let you know when your suggested feature is available. :)
    Hi @guest,

    I'll try to add it. :)
    Hi @askmark,

    Thanks for the feedback. I'll try to re-produce it. :)

    Regards,
    Kardo
     
  18. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,090
    Location:
    Estonia
  19. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    747
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Just tried an advanced scan and it doesn't pick any objects before stating it has completed. Quick scan works OK.
     
  20. Poppey

    Poppey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Posts:
    36
    Location:
    Germany
    With the latest version all my desktop icons go away and then the icons in the taskbar, then the screen goes complet blue. Only a restart of the PC helps. I had the same problems with an older version of 360 total security but they fix it for month. So I think it has not to do with the other security programs on my pc.

    Now I have deinstalled Outpost Security Suite and Crystal security works. No blue desktop. But a problem that still exists is when I press from the right mouse click menue "analyse with crystal security" for a file, nothing happens. This problem was with the version before also.
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2016
  21. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,090
    Location:
    Estonia
    Hi,

    Thanks for the feedback.

    Default or custom settings? I assume that you changed "Scope" or "File Types".
    Hi @Poppey,

    Thank you for the feedback.

    If file is detected as Safe then there is no alerts (based on your settings).

    Please try again right-click menu and then open Overview section. You should see analyzed files in Overview.

    Regards,
    Kardo
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2016
  22. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    747
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Didn't change anything other than set to run at startup. Downloaded portable and ran as is.
     
  23. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,549
    hi
    i have just tried and it's a beautiful program
    there is even a portable version , is the portable version powerful like the installation version ?
    thanks a lot
     
  24. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,549
    hi
    thanks
    have you found issue with another security software like eset smart security ?
     
  25. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,090
    Location:
    Estonia
    Hi @langh,

    Thanks for the feedback.
    Hi @mantra,

    Thank you for the interest. I am glad you like it. :)
    Yes. same features.
    There should be no issues between Crystal Security and ESET Smart Security.

    Regards,
    Kardo
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.