Crystal Security - Discussion

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by kardokristal, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,091
    Location:
    Estonia
  2. Nitty Kutchie

    Nitty Kutchie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Posts:
    132
    Nice work Champ keep up the fight.
     
  3. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    Europe
    Hi Kardo,

    Could you tell us what's the 'silent mode' ? In which case do you enable it ?
    About 'steath guard', could you give us more details ? How it's working, please ?

    'Self-protection' without 'start as Admin' , with LUA, impossible ? Which reasons ?
     
  4. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    Europe
    Scanning with the right click, doesn't work for me. I tried a several times.
    PS: 'Shell integration' is enabled
     
  5. malware1

    malware1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Posts:
    133
    Does the file appear in the overview?
     
  6. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    Europe
    What do you mean by 'the overview' ? The main page of CS ?
    Where is the location of all blocked files, please ?
     
  7. malware1

    malware1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Posts:
    133
    The overview tab.
     
  8. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    Europe
    When you right click on the supposed file to scan it ?

    Anyway, I have the integration shell as I told you and when I click it to scan it, nothing is happening.

     
  9. malware1

    malware1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Posts:
    133
    Yes.
     
  10. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    Europe
    So, it doesn't appear in the overview. This is a bug under Vista Business 32 bits. Hope Kardo will fix it soon.
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2015
  11. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,091
    Location:
    Estonia
    @Nutty Kutchie Thanks for the support. :)

    @Ashanta Sorry about late reply. I am in the military.

    Silent mode is like a gaming mode. When enabled then there are no notifications about analyzed files.

    Stealth Guard is like a default-deny approach. It means that all new and unknown files on your system are blocked. Only known and safe files are allowed to launch. You can also add files to exclusions.

    Please try to re-enable Shell integration. Do not forget to click Apply when you disable and enable Shell integration.

    I hope it helps. :)

    Regards,
    Kardo
     
  12. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    Europe
    Thanks for your reply Kardo.

    I already tried a few times on two different computers but I will try it again.

     
  13. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    Europe
    @kardokristal

    I confirm you need to fix it under Vista 32 bits environment. Thanks in advance.
     
  14. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,091
    Location:
    Estonia
    @Ashanta Thanks for the confirmation.

    Sorry about late reply. When the military is over then I can re-produce it. :)

    Regards,
    Kardo
     
  15. pcalvert

    pcalvert Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    234
    I am seeing a strange behavior on Windows XP. When Crystal Security is running, Windows does not shut down normally. What happens is that the Crystal Security icon disappears from the System Tray, but Windows continues running and I can open programs as usual. If I try to shut down a second time, then Windows shuts down normally. Also, if I manually close (exit) Crystal Security first before attempting to shut down Windows, then Windows XP shuts down normally.

    I am using Crystal Security 3.5.0.149 on Windows XP SP3.

    Phil
     
  16. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,091
    Location:
    Estonia
  17. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,091
    Location:
    Estonia
    Hi Phil,

    Thank you for the feedback.

    Your reported issued should be fixed in the latest build .152

    Please try latest version. :)

    Regards,
    Kardo
     
  18. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,318
    Location:
    .
    What functions do I forfeit with portable version.
     
  19. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,091
    Location:
    Estonia
    @bjm_ Thank you for the interest. :)

    Both versions are technically same (features, resource usage etc..). The only difference is that you can launch portable version from any location.

    Regards,
    Kardo
     
  20. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,318
    Location:
    .
    Hmm, as they're technically the same. Why have an installer version...?
    Usually, portable gives up something to portability. But, if they're exactly same function. Then why opt for installer version.
    http://www.rarst.net/software/portable-definition/
     
  21. Jadda

    Jadda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    428
    Because some wants an overview over programs on your computer, and with a portable version you don't get any fixed path or listing in applications. It's also easier to mistakenly remove the portable version, or forget where you put it. Kardo gives users freedom to choose, what is the issue?
     
  22. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,318
    Location:
    .
    Well, for new to CS testing. I'd prefer portable. Easy On. Easy Off. But, if CS does not communicate in Sandboxie. Then, is lack of communication because portable lacks some function. Hence, why I asked. What do I forfeit with portable v installer version.
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2015
  23. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,363
    @bjm_ Personally, wherever possible I don't use portable software, as I prefer to install software. Each to their own I guess.
     
  24. pcalvert

    pcalvert Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    234
    Hi Kardo,
    I can confirm that the problem I reported has been fixed. Thank you for the quick fix. :)

    Regards,

    Phil
     
  25. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,091
    Location:
    Estonia
    @bjm_ Good answer by @Jadda :)

    @pcalvert Thanks for the feedback Phil. Great to hear that. :)

    Regards,
    Kardo
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.