CryptoSuite OLD Benchmark Results

Discussion in 'Other Ghost Security Software' started by Jason_R0, Dec 1, 2003.

  1. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,328
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Re:CryptoSuite Benchmark Results

    I had the same identical programs running each time... The only difference was in the version of CS....

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  2. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,304
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Re:CryptoSuite Benchmark Results

    Hi, Gavin

    Thanks for your replies. The reason I posted was because of.


    It really does seem weird that Intel P4's seem to be much worse at this benchmark than AMD chips. I thought the difference wouldn't be as great as it has been. The code has not been optimized for any particular CPU either.

    A new PC we have here now, a P4-2.8GHz with HyperThreading, only scores 21500 CryptoMarks. It seems really odd, especially considering that a Celeron is second fastest thus far in this benchmark. My AMD chip which is currently 3rd (with 30198 Cryptomarks) was only running at 2.22GHz.
    =================================================================================


    I only had crypto running. I had turned DCS [WG\TDS\PE\PG] Also NOD32and ZAP all off.
    Only difference was v1.00 and v1.50.

    Please could you tell me how I post a picture in to a post like you do, also if you could will you tell me how to make my sig colored. So it will be there for future reference.

    Thanks again in Advance.

    TheQuest o_O
     
  3. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Re:CryptoSuite Benchmark Results

    Hi Quest, I can with this: :)

    Highlight any text in CS with the left mouse button presed and it is automatically placed on the clipboard you can then paste it into whatever window will take it such as this.
    This is with the PC doing loads of stuff at the moment. AMD 2200+

    -----------Benchmark finished]--------------
    CPU Frequency: 1807MHz (+/- 5mhz)
    RAM Installed: 511MB
    Total time taken: 23938ms
    Average time for each test: 3419ms
    ------------------------------------------------
    Your computer scored: 20887 CRYPTOMARKS!
    ------------------------------------------------
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,520
    Re:CryptoSuite Benchmark Results

    Glad to see I am not the only one. I also notice the benchmark dropped by about 3000. Not that it matters, but interesting.
     
  5. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,304
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Re:CryptoSuite Benchmark Results

    Hi, Pilli

    Thanks for your response,

    I will give it a go now.

    --------------[Benchmark finished]--------------
    CPU Frequency: 2194MHz (+/- 5mhz)
    RAM Installed: 1023MB
    Total time taken: 16709ms
    Average time for each test: 2387ms
    ------------------------------------------------
    Your computer scored: 29923 CRYPTOMARKS!
    ------------------------------------------------
    Well that bit worked, Thanks very much. :)
    I Hope some one will tell me how to put a picture in here like other people do? :(
    And also so how to make my Signature colored? :(

    Thanks again.

    TheQuest :cool:
     
  6. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Re:CryptoSuite Benchmark Results

    Click the browse button below & navigate to where the picture is stored on your PC, click open then preview below, BTW your picture has to be smaller than 800 x 600 I think, will then be uploaded to the board. If ypu are happy with your post then click post. Many ppl use Irfanview to capture their screenies: http://www.irfanview.com/

    You can use the Yabb codes shown in the board help such as this:

    [ color=Purple ] colour check [ /color ]
     
  7. Jason_R0

    Jason_R0 Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,038
    Location:
    Australia
    Re:CryptoSuite Benchmark Results

    Hi TheQuest,

    I see we have very similar systems, my main system I use at home is an Athlon 2600+/Abit Nforce2 v2.0 motherboard with one gig of ram. I have only been able to clock my memory to 333mhz (PC2700) when I have one gig of memory installed, so I am a bit disappointed at that.

    In regards to posting pictures, whenever you press the PRINT SCREEN button on your keyboard, Windows saves the entire screen to the CLIPBOARD as an IMAGE in memory. To get this image from memory onto disk you need a "paint" program, either MSPAINT or something like Paint Sho Pro (www.jasc.com). Once you have loaded the paint program simply go to the EDIT menu and click PASTE, the image should now appear. Then you can save it into whatever format the paint program supports. GIF and JPEG are the best image formats to use on on the internet, MSPAINT doesn't support these, but Paint Shop Pro does.

    -Jason-
     
  8. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,304
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Re:CryptoSuite Benchmark Results

    Hi, Jason

    Thanks for your reply.

    I am glad I had go read round when I was looking to do a new build.
    Abit are the one's to get I think. the NF7-S v2 being about the best and when it has AMD and OCZ put with it. It will rule. [Well soon with a bit more of a tweak]


    --------------[Benchmark finished]--------------
    CPU Frequency: 2392MHz (+/- 5mhz)
    RAM Installed: 1023MB
    Total time taken: 15374ms
    Average time for each test: 2196ms
    ------------------------------------------------
    Your computer scored: 32522 CRYPTOMARKS!
    ------------------------------------------------

    I all ready have them as jpeg 62kb. But can not get them to post in this postbox.

    Can you tell me how you get your one's to past in to your post box.

    Thank again
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  9. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,304
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Re:CryptoSuite Benchmark Results

    Hi

    Just trying again to a jpeg get here.

    TheQuest o_O Well at last all's well !!! :D
     

    Attached Files:

  10. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,304
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Re:CryptoSuite Benchmark Results

    Hi,

    Now I know how, Will this do for now?
    Thanks again
    TheQuest :eek:
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Jason_R0

    Jason_R0 Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,038
    Location:
    Australia
    Re:CryptoSuite Benchmark Results

    Well you have certainly pushed my system out of the top 3 :cool:.

    You are now the #1 leader, congratulations. :)

    -Jason-
     
  12. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Re:CryptoSuite Benchmark Results

    High TheQuest

    I found this free Screen capture utility yesterday: http://www.gadwin.com/download/

    Here is a screanie showing my CS chat client over yours & Jason's post:

    PS. The Chat server Password is pc2 ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Re:CryptoSuite Benchmark Results

    Ok so its a little overclocked now :) This is why people tweak and overclock their machines ;) big difference. Closed ALL programs even a bunch of services too which got me another few hundred. Oh and run the test 3 times in a row.. I just passed 30000 for the first time for me ! yay :D It peaks there and returns the same results a few times in a row.


    --------------[Benchmark finished]--------------
    CPU Frequency: 3006MHz (+/- 5mhz)
    RAM Installed: 511MB
    Total time taken: 16654ms
    Average time for each test: 2379ms
    ------------------------------------------------
    Your computer scored: 30022 CRYPTOMARKS!
    ------------------------------------------------

    PS.. could get higher :) I think I might be a bit far off the record to try though.. o_O ahh its only 3000 ! :)
     
  14. wink

    wink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Posts:
    52
    Re:CryptoSuite Benchmark Results

    Well I am totally confused now.

    I downloaded the demo version of cryptosuite and ran the benchmark. I wasn't expecting anything remarkable in the way of results, ... but also I wasn't expecting such a poor result either. Unfortunately I have uninstalled the demo now as the lowness of the benchmark was makin me dislike my pc. If you are wondering how low it actually was > 16500ish.

    I shutdown all open apps and stopped a couple of processes, admittidly I still had a numebr of processes running.

    I have a p4 3.00GHz running at 800fsb on a 200fsb mobo with dual channel ddr400 rams. see below for other info.

    Operating system information
    Platform:   Windows 2000
    Version:   5.0.2195 Service Pack 4
    Version of common control components:   5.81.4916
    RAM:   1024 MB
    Processor:   Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz (3014 MHz)


    how can this be SO poor! It's attrocious!

    surely having a few background processes active wouldn't knock the benchmark so low, as Jason said earlier in the thread that HT should handle the benchmark and such processes separately... who knows ... does anyone have any ideas?

    oh well might as well get out my old p1 233mhz lappy

    wink
     
  15. Jason_R0

    Jason_R0 Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,038
    Location:
    Australia
    Re:CryptoSuite Benchmark Results

    I have confirmed an actual drop going from version 1.000 to version 1.050. So don't put too much value in these v1.050 benchmarks yet. This will be fixed in the latest version.

    -Jason-
     
  16. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,304
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Re:CryptoSuite Benchmark Results

    Hi, Pilli

    Thanks very much for your reply, also for the link.

    Well I am sick :(, I have just purchased a Screen Capture Program and it is not very good. [The splash screen starts every time along with the help file when you start the Program, no options to turn them off very annoying :mad:]. Ace WinSsreen Cost $29 what a waste of money.

    Wish I had waited for you to post :oops:.[Not Clairvoyant thru :rolleyes:] Small very easy to use Program, and Free.

    Thanks VERY much, Wish I could give you a Cookie. [Well a cake really :D]

    PS. Jason, Does this not score then o_O.
    PPS. Pilli, The link in the forum help for Yabb Codes do not works. [Edit]Sorry was not looking deep enough.

    TheQuest. :cool:
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Jason_R0

    Jason_R0 Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,038
    Location:
    Australia
    Re:CryptoSuite Benchmark Results

    That is a very good score, but I won't be adding any new scores to the "TOP" list just yet, not until this benchmark version info is sorted out. If you got that high on version 1.050 though I can only imagine what you would get in v1.000 :cool:

    -Jason-
     
  18. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Re:CryptoSuite Benchmark Results

    Hi TheQuest, I do a search for new free utils such a screen capture when a post like yours prompts me :D

    Gadwin is nice simple programme and a fine, useful tool to use a long with Irfanview.

    Wow! Nice score! :cool:
     
  19. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    Re:CryptoSuite Benchmark Results

    CPU frequency: 2600MHz (+/- 5 MHz )
    RAM installed: 246 MB
    Total time taken: 25499ms
    Average time for each test: 3642ms.

    Your computer scored: 19608 CRYPTOMARKS!
     
  20. Jason_R0

    Jason_R0 Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,038
    Location:
    Australia
    Re:CryptoSuite Benchmark Results

    Ok I have found and fixed the problem with v1.050 benchmarks being slower than v1.000. The reason is due to some performance compiler settings I forgot to include when I switched parts of the code base, the next version due out soon will have this issue fixed!

    -Jason-
     
  21. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,328
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Re:CryptoSuite Benchmark Results

    Thanks Jason!!!!!

    A karma cookie for you!!!

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  22. worldcitizen

    worldcitizen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Posts:
    530
    Re:CryptoSuite Benchmark Results

    My scores dropped from 25750 to around 19700 on a P4 2.6 with HT so I'm glad to know it was the prog and not my PC.

    Dave
     
  23. Jason_R0

    Jason_R0 Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,038
    Location:
    Australia
    Re:CryptoSuite Benchmark Results

    Yes it is amazing how much compiler "optimization" can affect performance. :)

    -Jason-
     
  24. Nimbo

    Nimbo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Milwaukee
    Re:CryptoSuite Benchmark Results

    Here is mine from version 1.050 :D


    --------------[Benchmark finished]--------------
    CPU Frequency: 2104MHz (+/- 5mhz)
    RAM Installed: 1023MB
    Total time taken: 20380ms
    Average time for each test: 2911ms
    ------------------------------------------------
    Your computer scored: 24533 CRYPTOMARKS!
    ------------------------------------------------
     
  25. Jason_R0

    Jason_R0 Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,038
    Location:
    Australia
    Re:CryptoSuite Benchmark Results

    Time for everyone who ran the v1.050 benchmark to try v1.070 one. Repost those scores! :)

    -Jason-
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.