Creating new user account

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Acadia, Jun 24, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    I only have one user account on my WinXP Home system: Administrator. Is there a way to create a new account yet still retain all the settings and changes that I have made to all of the defaults? When I create a new user account, I appear to start from scratch, my desktop changes and even programs that I removed from the System Tray reappear. Is there a way to copy my current account to my new account so that they are the same, except that one of them is Admistrator. Thank you.

    Acadia
     
  2. beetlejuice69

    beetlejuice69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    780
    Just go to start- run and type in control userpasswords then hit enter. You can make a new account and give it whatever power you want.
     
  3. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Thanks, but will it be identical to my old account with all of the changes that I have made thru the months, that is what I am asking: not how to do it, but how to SAVE all of the changes that I have made.

    Acadia
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    This is what I get in user types.
     
  5. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    BigC, thanks, but I simply want to create a new account with all the changes that I have already made to the fonts, and Properties, the System Tray and so on and so on. When I create a new account even my desktop picture changes to an MS default picture. Is there any way not to start all over again?

    Acadia
     
  6. hadi

    hadi Guest

    Hi
    do you want exact same profile. this Microsoft tool will help you to copy profile then change the profile name
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...96-f3a6-4fdd-862b-1ae03dc130c1&displaylang=en
     
  7. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I believe what you want to do is keep all of your settings but not to have the new user with administrator priveledges. I really don't think it can be done. I think you have to create a user account and then customize it. If I am wrong I want to learn how to do it myself ;)
     
  8. hadi

    hadi Guest

    Hi
    I think it can be done. copy the exact profile with the aid of M$ tool above to a new named profile then
    start>run
    type
    control userpasswords
    hit enter
    click on the account in question> select change account type
     
  9. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    hadi, thank you! That sounds like what I am looking for, don't know when I'll get around to trying it, but it looks promising, thanks again. :cool:

    Acadia
     
  10. hadi

    hadi Guest

    You are welcome.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.