Create SysRescue in XP sp3

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by vukodlak75, Mar 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vukodlak75

    vukodlak75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Posts:
    32

    Attached Files:

  2. SmackyTheFrog

    SmackyTheFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    767
    Location:
    Lansing, Michigan
    Open up services.msc and see if the Eset service started. If it hasn't, try manually starting it and then seeing if things work properly.
     
  3. vukodlak75

    vukodlak75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Posts:
    32
    From within XP? The services are running.

    If I use the cd to boot up a Vista pc I have here then it works just fine.
    Booting up this XP pc with the sysrescue cd is causing me the problem.
     
  4. trencan

    trencan Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Posts:
    120
    Most probably you don't have NIC driver installed in SysRescue. Can you try "ipconfig" in command line when SysRescue is booted? What's the output? SysRescue uses WinPE and it has some drivers inside by default. That's maybe why it's OK on one PC and not on other. If so, then you need to inject NIC driver via advanced setting in Wizard, when creating SysRescue disk.
     
  5. rolarocka

    rolarocka Guest

    I think thats the way SysRescue works. Its the same for me if i reboot with the SysRescue cd. "Not all features are functional in Sysrescue Mode" like stated in the first screenshot. Its only for full scan and not for realtime scanning.
     
  6. vukodlak75

    vukodlak75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Posts:
    32
    OK, adding the Nic drivers worked. Thanks
     
  7. scams

    scams Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Posts:
    32
    Vukodlak75, I am getting ready to make the SysRescue disk and am using windows XP Pro (SP3) on my computer. I would appreciate it very much if you would indicate where you found the NIC driver on your computer. Thanks, Sam.

    P.S. Once you made the SysRescue disk, was it okay to delete the windows AIK file that was used to make the SysRescue disk?
     
  8. trencan

    trencan Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Posts:
    120
    If you are running 32-bit OS, SysRescue wizard can automatically find driver for your NIC, which is installed in your OS. In Advanced Settings there is a tab with external drivers and button "Aut.Search".

    If you have 64-bit OS, then you need to download 32-bit Vista driver from internet for your NIC. Then again in "Advanced Settings" you can use button "Add" and locate .inf file inside driver package which you downloaded.

    Once you made SysRescue disc, you can uninstall AIK, if you want.
     
  9. scams

    scams Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Posts:
    32
    Re: Create SysRescue in XP sp3 - Thanks

    Trencan, many thanks for the informative reply! Sam
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.