Create Image over network?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Nige, Jun 18, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nige

    Nige Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Hi!
    I have 2 PCs - True Image is installed on PC1 and I want to create an Image of PC2 over the LAN and store it on PC1.
    I'm using the trial version of True Image (Build 826).
    I've mapped PC2 to PC1, but TI doesn't see the network dirve on the first page of the "Create Image" wizard.
    My question is - Does the full version of TI support this method? If not, is there a product which does?
    Thanks

    N
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Nige,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Acronis True Image does allow you to create the image and store it to the network shared folder. Please note that this functionality is present in the trial version as well as in the full one and you should have no problems with it.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  3. Nige

    Nige Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Wow!
    Thanks for the swift response - but I don't want to store the image on the network share, I want to take an image FROM a network share. Is this possible?
     
  4. PaulB2005

    PaulB2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Posts:
    525
    True Image is only licensed for the machine it is installed on so what you are doing would be against the license agreement.

    I believe Acronis True Image 8.0 Corporate Workstation does what you want.
     
  5. Nige

    Nige Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Thanks Paul,
    That answers my question!
    Althought the Corporate Workstation Version can only bought with a minimum of 10 licences. A bit over the top for my 2 machines. I may just go for the single version of TI for now, and if it shapes up, then buy another copy for PC2. PC2 actually has DriveImage 2002 installed on it, but I found that software to be worse than useless! The fact that Symantec actually bought DriveImage has put me off looking at Norton Ghost!
    N
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2005
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Nige,

    Do you have the image file on the network share? If so you don't need to purchase any other licenses or purchase Acronis True Image Corporate Workstation. Acronis True Image 8.0 is able to restore the image from the network shared drive without any problems. Is that what you want to do?

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  7. Nige

    Nige Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Hi Ilya,
    No I don't have the image yet! I want to create an image from the Network share.
    PC1 = True Image installed.
    PC2 = Shared over LAN
    I want to create an image on PC1 of PC2!

    N
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Nige,

    Now I understand. In this case PaulB2005 is right. Acronis True Image doesn't support remote imaging while Acronis True Image Corporate Workstation does. In your situation it seems that two licenses for Acronis True Image would be the best choice.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.