Could ESET be causing this?

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Tyfelt, Nov 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tyfelt

    Tyfelt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    31
    I am having trouble connecting to one specific website (fantasyfootballscout.co.uk / 46.38.178.219). When I try and connect, it just says "connecting", forever. The site is not down. If I load up my laptop (not running ESET) and connect it to the same router as my desktop, it loads. This is the only website that does not load, all others are fine. It is the same in Firefox, Chrome and IE. I have of course done the obvious, clear all caches/cookies, flush DNS etc. Have contacted the site admin to ensure my IP is not banned (it isn't). My hosts file is clean.

    The only thing I can come up with is that something must be blocking my connection on this PC specifically, but I have no idea what. ESET is the only filtering software I use. If I turn ESET off, I still can't connect to the website but I understand this may not a cut and dry way of ruling ESET in or out as the problem.
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    If Eset is disabled and yet still no connection to that site then it is unlikely it is Eset blocking it. Do you use hosts file? No other sites being blocked?
     
  3. Tyfelt

    Tyfelt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    31
    My hosts file is totally empty, aside from the default blurb. If I use a proxy on my desktop the connection to the site works, but that doesn't really explain much.
     
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    and if you use proxy on the other comp? restart the router maybe
     
  5. dmaasland

    dmaasland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Posts:
    468
    try a "tracert fantasyfootballscout.co.uk" from a command prompt
     
  6. Tyfelt

    Tyfelt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    31
    Tracing route to fantasyfootballscout.co.uk [46.38.178.219]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 7 ms 15 ms 7 ms cable.virginmedia.com [xx.x.xx.x]
    2 7 ms 7 ms 7 ms nrth-core-1a-ae1-2556.network.virginmedia.net [213.106.255.85]
    3 14 ms 9 ms 8 ms nrth-bb-1a-so-210-0.network.virginmedia.net [212.43.162.237]
    4 10 ms 7 ms 7 ms nrth-bb-1b-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.185.118]
    5 15 ms 15 ms 6 ms nrth-tmr-2-ae6-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.105.159.34]
    6 12 ms 10 ms 11 ms tele-ic-1-as0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.184.2]
    7 10 ms 11 ms 10 ms linx.edge3.lon.rackspace.net [195.66.224.116]
    8 25 ms 42 ms 42 ms vl911.core6a.lon3.rackspace.net [92.52.76.204]
    9 22 ms 11 ms 11 ms 92.52.77.95
    10 11 ms 19 ms 11 ms 46.38.178.219

    Trace complete.
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    Does disabling firewall, web protection or protocol filtering in the ESS setup make a difference?
     
  8. Tyfelt

    Tyfelt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    31
    No it does not.
     
  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    Since web protection is the only component of EAV that might potentially interfere with HTTP communication and you confirmed that disabling it doesn't resolve the issue, I assume that uninstalling EAV wouldn't help either. Please confirm it to make sure.
     
  10. Tyfelt

    Tyfelt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    31
    Completely uninstalling ESET didn't change anything - so I guess it's not ESET. Thank you all for your help.
     
  11. Rusty_Shackleford

    Rusty_Shackleford Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    USA

    Not correct. Even if you temporarily disable ESET real-time protection, ESET will still block bad web sites and real-time is still running.
     
  12. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Maybe work/research some more on disabling. As it turned out in this case Eset was not a cause.
     
  13. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Then that's because "Web Access Protection" is still enabled.
     
  14. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Was this traceroute run with or without the proxy?

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.