Corupted file causing errors in snapshots

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by danny9, Aug 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    I had to reformat my computer due to a Krazy Anti Virus program I used to have.
    I used Acronis TI to restore a few files I had.
    One of them is corrupted.
    After reinstalling BootBack, everytime it tries to copy that file it shows an error.
    File cannot be deleted because it is corrupted and unreadable.
    Is there any way to remove or uninstall this corrupt file?
    Don't want to go thru a reformat again. o_O
    My apologizes if this is not the right place to post this.
    Dan
     
  2. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,566
    If you run chkdsk windows will fix the file and you will be able to delete it ;)
     
  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    This is what I use. It works well and is safe.

    Pete
     
  4. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Thanks for the replies but as of now, no luck.
    I tried Unlocker.
    First install was bad.
    Redid it and everything worked.
    It tried to unlock the file but could'nt.
    It said object could not be deleted and asked me if I wanted to run check disk at the next reboot. Which I did.
    After all was said and done, that little s.o.b. was still there in all it's glory.
    Undeleteable and I swear it was grinning at me.:)
    Back to the drawing board.
    Dan
     
  5. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Even when you try in Windows SAFE MODE ?
     
  6. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,566
    Have you tried to check disk with the option "scan for and attempt recovery of bad sectors"?

    If even after that you cannot delete it in safe mode it means that you have a corrupted mft and you will have to reformat and restore your files excluding that one.:p
     
  7. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    To your first question, yes I did.
    To you and Erik, I did not try in safe mode yet. I'll do that next.
    As far as reformating again...damn!o_O
     
  8. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    Before you reformat, give Killbox a try: http://killbox.net/

    No guarantees, but worth a shot

    ...screamer
     
  9. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Thanks, I'll definitely give it a shot.
    Just went thru a reformat, got everything back and I sure in hell don't want to do it again.;)
     
  10. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,290
    Location:
    England
    As a last resort try renaming the file e.g bad file.old, and then try to delete it in safe mode.
     
  11. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Just want to say thanks to all of you for your suggestions and help.
    Regretfully, nothing worked.
    To any others who use or will try Kill Box. Good program but don't use on a corrupted file. It did not work but created another huge file that cannot be deleted. So now I have 2 bad files.
    Looks like a reformat will have to be done.
    Next time I get a couple of days off in a roll, that's what I'll be doing.
    Be awhile though.
    Thanks again!
    Dan
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.