Corrupted Tib files

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by eliaphil, Mar 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. eliaphil

    eliaphil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Hi to all
    Recent major hard disk failure where i store my ATI11 image files on a usb 2.0 connection. I have run a recovery program from ontrackdisk to restore files where posible. On restore and running ATI-11 and selecting the first file in backup set it states that file is corrupt, the rest of the files register as OK but always request to open record 1 in set. My question is can I use the remaining image files to recover some of my lost files or have I lost everything.

    Phil
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I would hope you still have the originals since this was a backup.

    If the first or last split of a backup image is corrupted, TI can't use it. If any of the "middle" splits are corrupt you can fake them so you can still restore some of your files.

    I assume you've already tried mounting the image. If not, try it.
     
  3. eliaphil

    eliaphil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Hi MudCrab

    I still have all my original software disks but its all the other data lost in the arcive backup and I did not get around to backup the backups. Have tried to mount all other images but get the error message unable to assign drive letter to partion. The only file which shows up as corrupt is the first image in the set.

    What do you mean by middle spilts and can fake.

    Phil
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    When you create a backup image and it "splits" the image into multiple files, the first and last splits (files) must be intact in order to mount the image.

    "Middle" splits are the files between the first and last files.

    By "faking" a split, I mean that there is a method that can be used to "trick" TI into thinking the image is intact when, in fact, it is not. No files contained in the "fake" split can be restored, but files in the uncorrupted splits can.

    More information can be found in this thread: Critical 500GB backup ruined? How to recover something?
     
  5. eliaphil

    eliaphil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Mudcrab
    Looked at your link and read info, copied and changed bit to suite image file as per link info.
    On mounting image file error stating "the request could not be performed because of an I/O device error" occurrs on all tibs in image set.

    Phil
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.