Corrupt differential backup when mounting R/W

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by btobw, Dec 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. btobw

    btobw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    TI 11.0 (build 8,053)
    Win XP sp2

    Although, as mentioned in my previous post, uncompressing my backup partitions solved some problems, I have one remaining problem. If I mount an image in read-write mode, TI creates a corrupt differential backup. If I try to mount that differential backup, the screen says "Selected file is not Acronis True Image Home archive or is corrupted."

    Any suggestions as to why this is happening? I didn't actually modify the original image, and I mounted the original image, not the differential backup that had been made the night before.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello btobw,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup software

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach Acronis True Image 11 Home log to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you

    --
    Michael Levchenko
     
  3. btobw

    btobw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I have sent off a heap of screenshots etc, but in the process, I think I have found the culprit myself.

    So, since I have complained about solutions rarely being posted here:

    It looks as though Norton Internet Security is preventing something from happening when the image is mounted R/W. A reboot results in the corrupt differential file suddenly becoming much larger - and it now validates and mounts without problems.

    While the computer was shutting down during reboot, there was an error message saying ccSvcHst could not read memory - as that's a Norton program, I'm guessing Peter Norton is poking his nose in where it's not wanted again.

    I have only just sent all the info off to tech support, so they are yet to confirm it, or offer any solutions. I just won't mount R/W :D
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello btobw,

    Thank you for sharing your experience. It is very much appreciated. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    If you have any further questions concerning Acronis software, please feel free to submit a request for technical support or post any of them on this forum. We will certainly try to help you in resolving any issues.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  5. btobw

    btobw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Does anyone else have a problem with file handles not being released after an image is mounted and then unmounted? I mount an image, unmount it, and then quit ATI. Process Explorer etc report System (PID 4, User Name NT
    AUTHORITY\SYSTEM) as still having a handle open on the image file(s). This happens even if an image is mounted read-only.

    I discovered this because I created a temporary image to test something, and then tried to delete the image after the mount/unmount test. I had to reboot (or close the handle) first.

    Cheers
    Dianne
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.