copy files from an hd to another hd

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by mantra, Feb 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,157
    Hi
    which is the more safe skill and program to copy files(big and small files) from one hard disk to another different hard disk


    is total commander safer like xcopy?


    thanks
     
  2. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,702
    Hello,
    Safe in what way?
    Mrk
     
  3. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
  4. tradetime

    tradetime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Location:
    UK
    File copy program that I particularly like Karen's Replicator Has been working flawlessly for several months now.
     
  5. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,157
    thanks
    so total commander is not enough?


    well by the way , to know if a file is corrupted what can i use ? cdcheck http://www.kvipu.com/CDCheck/
     
  6. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,157
    thanks for the link
    but is not able to detect if the source files are corrupted !
    for example i move a movie or some mp3 ,maybe the file could be corrupted , which program is able to detect ?
    i tried cdcheck
     
  7. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Ive used Windows Explorer to copy files between drives and not had problems.

    If you want you can use a program like TeraCopy.
     
  8. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Use checksums. Compute the checksums of your files before and after copying and compare the outputs.
     
  9. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,157
    yeah but if the source is corrupted and destination is corrupted too
    so the problem is how can i know if the source is corrupted (i can't open and run every files)
     
  10. forty

    forty Guest

    ViceVersa Pro 2 has never left me down going both directions.
     
  11. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Well, if the source is corrupted you've got bigger problems than merely copying files. Depending on the filetype, a specific tool might be able to asses if a file is corrupted somehow.
     
  12. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    Presumably you are still referring to the a faulty hard disk with bad sectors(thread under FDISR).
    If this is still the case,it was suggested that you run the disk diagnostic for your make of drive,which can also repair bad sectors,if the disk is salvageable,but probably not corrupt files.
    Otherwise you can try Spinrite,or optimally restore your FDISR image,to a new disk.
    Cant understand what you are trying to achieve-if the source may be corrupted and also the destination-a sure recipe for a complete waste of time.
    If this refers to the new disks,you have a serious hardware problem.
    Correrct your basic problem first.
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2008
  13. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    @mantra
    All those options mentioned are good tools
    If you already have TC : nice: the full pro version is a very powerful app.

    If you somehow want to verify each file of each type mp3, wmv, avi, ogg, doc etc etc before copy: there is afaik no app that will do that

    Like Hairy says if your drive is good...trust to the magic
    Check out all the restoring that goes on here :eek:
    You would doubtlessly be shifting files around on your HD: noticed any issues?.

    You;ll just have to check and compare.
    There might be some app somewhere that will generate a checksum before copy/move and check again after ??
     
  14. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    Longboard,unfortunately his problem seems to be suspected faulty/corrupt HDDs,judging by his previous thread,although the info. he gives is very hard to make heads or tails out of,so none of the ordinary copiers are relevanto_O
     
  15. markymoo

    markymoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    1,212
    Location:
    England
    one good tip don't use Vista to do it haha.

    i would try running chkdsk you migh have abit hard drive corruption or wipe the partition. check the files are worrking too.

    i use xplorer2 is great it really just a better explorer but light and speedy

    http://www.zabkat.com/

    if you want a good program to synchronise files or back them up.

    http://www.centered.com/
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.