Continuing problem with Comodo firewall.

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by wtsinnc, Oct 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    Hello.

    I'm fairly new member and this is my first post. I've visited this website for quite a while and have just completed a search regarding the topic in the header. Although there have been several posts speaking to this issue, I am still very confused and, frankly, frustrated with a continuing problem with the Comodo firewall, version 3.

    I own a Dell Dimension E510 desktop and every time I download/install the CPF, I get the infamous prompt instructing me to load the Dell Resource CD. I have spent considerable time viewing threads concerning this problem here and other sites including the Comodo forums and still have seen no definite "fix" for this bug. Comodo support has not replied to two inquiries posted through a friend's account and I was hoping someone here knows of a way to permanently fix the problem. The idea to load the CD and paste the requested files to a folder, then redirect the prompt to that folder is not a true fix; is there something better ?

    Thanks in advance for any help.
     
  2. jminnie

    jminnie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    I had this issue a few months ago. It wasn't related to Comodo Firewall though. The way I corrected this issue was actually quite simple. I simply went to Add/Remove programs. Found "Dell Resource CD", and uninstalled it. That's it! Worked for me, hopefully will work for you.

    Good Luck
     
  3. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    Thanks for the reply jminnie.

    I have reinstalled the Comodo FW (ver. 3) and am still getting the Windows Installer window although I do not have the Dell resource CD installed.

    Prior to reinstallation of Comodo, I ran a search for program files using the terms "Dell Resource CD", "Resource CD", and "DRCD"; nothing was found.

    Separately, I searched Prefetch for any reference to any of the above; nothing found.

    I manually searched the registry using the same search terms as I used for the file search; three entries found; all three deleted.

    Ran CCleaner (Cleaner and Registry) and re-booted.

    Following re-boot, the Windows Installer window again appeared. I clicked on "cancel" and the window closed.

    Following that action, I accessed the internet using IE 7. During the loading of my home page, the Windows Installer window again appeared for about three seconds, then closed on it's own.

    How can I keep the installer window from appearing on boot-up and/or internet access ? This has been happening only when the Comodo firewall is installed. What else needs to be done in order to achieve normal boot-up and home page access without the Windows Installer involving itself ?

    Thanks.
     
  4. jminnie

    jminnie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    Try this:

    1: Open the Group Policy Editor by selecting Run from the Start Menu, and typing gpedit.msc. (If the file is missing, run mmc.exe instead. Then, select Add/Remove Snap-in from the Console menu, click Add, and double-click Group Policy. Click Finish, then Close, then Ok.)

    2: Expand the following branches:
    Local Computer Policy \ Computer Configuration \ Administrative Templates \ Windows Components \ Windows Installer

    3: Double-click Disable Windows Installer to your right, click Enabled, and choose Always from the list. Click Ok when you're done.

    4: The change will take effect immediately. If you added a snap in, as described above, you don't need to "save changes to the console."

    5: Note: If you encounter an error about the Administrator Policy the next time you try to install an application, you'll have to re-enable the Windows Installer temporarily.

    GOOD LUCK
     
  5. disinter1

    disinter1 Guest

    I have this same problem with Comodo on my dell, i had to uninstall something, I forgot the name but it sucks having Comodo ignore this.
     
  6. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    jminnie;

    It works like a champ !
    Thanks for sharing your knowledge; it's really nice to finally get a fix for this problem.

    To disinter1: I had to uninstall every trace of the Dell Resource CD including manual deletion of several registry keys.

    The fix provided by jminnie is perfect for XP Pro; for XP Home (which I also use), Group Policy as such really doesn't exist as it does in XP Pro. For XP Home, I just changed startup of Windows Installer to manual. The window does appear on startup, but only briefly and it doesn't call for the resource CD. It isn't as clean as the remedy for XP Pro, but it's a real improvement over what I had.

    Again, thank you very much !
     
  7. jminnie

    jminnie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    Glad I could be of assistance. :thumb:
     
  8. 3xist

    3xist Guest

    If you guys could please report this to the Comodo Forums, it would be great.
     
  9. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    3xist; you wrote:

    If you guys could please report this to the Comodo Forums, it would be great.


    I really wonder; why bother !

    As stated in this thread, I twice e-mailed Comodo for assistance and assistance was not ever offered.

    Questions;

    -Why should I bother to report to Comodo forums. This problem has been reported by a number of users in several forums (including Comodo's) as well as to Commodo support for months.

    -Why won't Comodo get off of their collective asses and fix the problem ? This has been a known bug in the software; why should a user need to resort to what amounts to an operating system hack in order to correct a known problem with their software ?

    Comodo knew this problem was also manifest in their new security suite, yet they released it without a fix anyway. I know they are and have been aware of this so one is left to question (their) true level of commitment to user satisfaction.

    -As you are the moderator of the Comodo forums, why don't YOU report this and also issue a direct challenge to Comodo to fix this problem quickly and permanently; let's see if they listen to you or if they ignore your request as they have those of mine and others who have pointed out this problem. This is a matter of corporate responsibility; will Comodo actually address this problem and really fix it, or will they attempt to explain it away as a compatibility problem created by Microsoft, "user error" or "an isolated incident which is impossible to diagnose" ?

    -We will see.
    -Yes, I'm angry about this- very angry !
     
  10. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Does this thread serve any useful purpose beyond your rants then? If not, why bother with posting here. You need to report bugs to the vendor; if you can't be bothered, well then you'd be better off chosing a different product if you have issues.

    :rolleyes:

    ("Dell Resource CD" and similar utter junk installed by various vendors is best wiped clean from your HD, then you won't get any such prompts back. Download and install normal, up-to-date drivers from their website without all the bloated broken "utilities" cruft.)
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2008
  11. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    doktornotor:

    Don't flame me because I have an issue with a vendor. Did you actually read the thread- start to finish ?

    In my first post, i clearly stated that I had already attempted (twice) to resolve the issue by contacting Comodo support and that I had received no reply to either inquiry.

    My reply to 3xist stands on it's merits, notwithstanding your opinion that I have breached your personal concept of "purpose".

    Have a nice day !
     
  12. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Responding to a polite request such as "If you guys could please report this to the Comodo Forums, it would be great. in the way you did is nothing but plain ridiculous. And in case you haven't noticed yet, Comodo forum moderators are not Comodo employees but unpaid volunteers.

    On a side note - have you reported this to Dell? You can send them a couple of your warm words about "corporate responsibility" and advise them to "get off of their collective asses and fix the problem". Unlike with Comodo, you've actually paid Dell for this broken cruft - it's included in the price for the HW. Perhaps you are screaming at the completely wrong guys?

    Other than that - already told you what to do - uninstall that broken Dell junk. Disabling Windows Installer or similar is plain wrong even as a hack. In case it refused to uninstall properly, use Windows Installer CleanUp
     
  13. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    Again, you either aren't reading the thread or are incapable of understanding what is written.

    My second post in this thread clearly stated that the Dell Resource CD was not installed.


    "Prior to reinstallation of Comodo, I ran a search for program files using the terms "Dell Resource CD", "Resource CD", and "DRCD"; nothing was found."
    -doktornotor, do you understand that statement ?

    "Separately, I searched Prefetch for any reference to any of the above; nothing found."
    -doktornotor, do you understand that statement ?

    "I manually searched the registry using the same search terms as I used for the file search; three entries found; all three deleted."
    -doktornotor, do you understand that statement ?

    "Ran CCleaner (Cleaner and Registry) and re-booted."
    -doktornotor, do you understand that statement ?

    "Following re-boot, the Windows Installer window again appeared. I clicked on "cancel" and the window closed."
    -doktornotor, do you understand that statement ?

    "Following that action, I accessed the internet using IE 7. During the loading of my home page, the Windows Installer window again appeared for about three seconds, then closed on it's own."
    -doktornotor, do you understand that statement ?

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    THE DELL RESOURCE CD IS NOT INSTALLED !
    -doktornotor, do you understand that statement ?

    Comodo continues to ask for the Dell Resource CD.
    -doktornotor, do you understand that statement ?

    This is an issue with Comodo's version three firewall, not Dell.
    -doktornotor, do you understand that statement ?

    I have fourteen hard drives, each loaded with either Windows Vista Ultimate, Windows XP Professional, or Windows XP Home Edition. On a few of these drives, the Dell Resource CD is installed, on most, it is not installed. No other application exhibits this behavior on any of my hard drives regardless of whether or not the DRCD is installed.
    I repeat; NO OTHER APPLICATION EXHIBITS THIS BEHAVIOR ON ANY OF MY HARD DRIVES REGARDLESS OF WHETHER OR NOT THE DRCD IS INSTALLED.
    -doktornotor, do you understand that statement ?

    Disabling D+ in Comodo Version Three eliminates the problem but also severely restricts the usefulness of the firewall- not acceptable !

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Two final points;

    I dont give a D*** about how you feel regarding my reply to 3xist.
    -doktornotor, do you understand that statement ?

    The problem is NOT Dell's to fix. Your contention that this problem is somehow associated with any Dell component or software is absurd and clearly demonstrates your bias as well as your ignorance.
    -doktornotor, do you understand THAT statement.

    Again, have a nice day !
     
  14. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Riiiight; so Windows producing prompts about Dell software product that's allegedly "not installed" is a Comodo issue. Bueeehehehe. :D

    Have a nice day, enough time wasted with your nonsense.
     
  15. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    The prompt ONLY occurs with Comodo ver.3.

    -Again, you fail to comprehend-

    GFY
     
  16. disinter1

    disinter1 Guest



    It would be great because I posted this problem many many months ago, and no fix or patch for this problem, and yes it is Comodo that has to fix this because it only happens with Comodo Firewall Pro 3 when installed.
     
  17. khagaroth

    khagaroth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Posts:
    25
    Go to %windir%\Installer (it's hidden) and search for the installation file for Dell Resource CD - it is one of the "o_Oo_O.msi" files with random names (no wonder your search didn't find it), just hover your mouse over the files and it will display their description, that's the only way to identify them. After you find the right file, rightclick on it and choose uninstall, it might display a warning that it's a valid action only for installed products, ignore that and then you can delete this file. Run a registry cleaner to get rid of any references to this file and you are done.
     
  18. 3xist

    3xist Guest

    I will mention this.

    You see... Different bugs have different portieres. Usually from "high" to "low", So there is probably a good reason WHY it's not fixed.

    Anyway... Will give the lead developer a bell. Thx.
     
  19. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    No, you fail to understand that you have broken Windows Installer info on that box and instead of trying to fix it the right way you keep ranting about Comodo. I'd suggest you do some serious reading about Windows Installer internals so that you finally stop claiming complete nonsense here and move on solving the real issue. Ktnxbye.

    :thumbd:
     
  20. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    khagaroth;

    Thanks for the information about folder %windir%\install, but it wasn't a fix.
    Just to let you know, I accessed the folder, identified one file associated with the Dell Resource CD and deleted it. Following that, I found three registry keys associated with that file (A298:cool: and manually deleted them as well, then ran CCleaner, Temp Cleaner, and Glary Utilities, then rebooted. Upon reboot, no prompt for the Dell Resource CD.

    Following reboot, I installed Comodo version 3 and again began to experience the pop-ups requesting the Dell Resource CD. THE FIREWALL IS THE PROBLEM !

    The Comodo forums are loaded- and I meant to use that word- with posts detailing still unresolved problems with this firewall (many dating back to November, 2007) and expressing real frustration regarding Comodo's slow response to addressing them. Along with complaints about extremely high CPU usage, other reported problems were many concerning the Dell CD bug, the firewall executing a prompt asking the user to reinstall a program called PC Anywhere, and also a bug which executes a prompt asking some users to install or reinstall some HP drivers. Ongoing comments clearly indicate that these are "known and still unresolved issues".

    Again and again, users report that the problem(s) start following installation of Comodo 3 and end once it's uninstalled. I have personally installed hundreds of programs and the Dell resource CD prompt appears only when the Comodo version 3 firewall is installed. Thankfully, Comodo is not a "must-have" application; there are a number of capable firewalls.

    Obviously, this is and never was an issue caused by the Windows Installer, Dell, or any other entity other than Comodo.
     
  21. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,551
    Hi wtsinnc,

    what installation mode do you select?
    Problems like this can be caused by the hips driver of comodo.
    Have you tried to deactivate (not disable) comodos defence+ ?

    You can try to download the new comodo suite and install only the firewall with defence+. It's hips driver is updated and resolves a lot of similar problems.

    Panagiotis
     
  22. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    Hello pandlouk;

    With D+ deactivated, the pop-up does not appear; however, Defense+ is one of the primary reasons for using version 3. Deactivating D+ is not a viable solution.

    I have tried the Comodo Security Suite twice, the most recent install was Tuesday, 10-14. Using CSS, I experience exactly the same problem as with Comodo version 3 f/w. I like the security Suite and believe that it has real promise, but as of now, it offers nothing in the way of a solution.

    I keep thinking about what happened with the Zone Alarm firewall a couple of months ago. One Microsoft update created a problem with ZA rendering it unable to access the Internet with the security level set to high. To solve the problem, Zone Alarm didn't tell their users that because Microsoft caused the problem, they would have to wait for Microsoft to fix the problem, and they didn't suggest that users compromise the security level just to make it work; they became proactive and issued a new version of the firewall which eliminated the problem.

    If they can do this, why can't Comodo ?
     
  23. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Sigh; you are not listening. See, the above and similar random messing with stuff is NOT how you fix erroneous junk in Windows Installer. That's what Windows Installer CleanUp is for. You still haven't managed to fix your real issue properly, otherwise you'd get no prompts for Dell Resource CD.
     
  24. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    I've run it- twice.

    How about you stop cluttering up my inbox !
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2008
  25. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Not really my fault you've mucked it up even more with those clueless "fixes". You can reinstall the thing and see if it uninstalls properly after that now that you've broken it beyond repair. :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.