Context menu (right click) Windows explorer

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by postscript, Jul 31, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. postscript

    postscript Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    I'm running NOD32 on a Winxp sp2 machine. Within my file browse utility (Windows explorer / Totall Commander) I miss the Virusscan function in the richt-click context menu. It would be easier to have a file quickly scannes.

    Although it should be e feature of NOD32 I can't find the thrick to make is work.

    Has anyone any idear?

    Thanx!

    Pieter
     
  2. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
  3. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    The right-click menu feature is an option when you first install NOD32, but I cannot find anywhere in the settings that lets you enable this after NOD32 has already been installed.

    I believe the following registry key enables this feature:
    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\*\shellex\ContextMenuHandlers\NOD32 Context Menu Extension

    name: (Default)
    type: REG_SZ
    data: {B089FE88-FB52-11D3-BDF1-0050DA34150D}

    The data field may very well be different for you, however. To find what it should be on your computer, search the registry for "NOD32 Context Menu Shell Extension". You may find it on the right side. If you look on the left side, you will see the {.......} number that you should use.

    If you do not find the {.......} number, you may have to create it. Open up a Command Prompt and type this:

    regsvr32 C:\Program Files\Eset\nodshex.dll

    Once you have typed this, do the steps above in the reverse order. o_O

    At least, I think that is how you would do it manually. If anyone knows of a button to add the right-click menu, please tell!
     
  4. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
  5. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    Try reinstalling NOD32 again. ;)
    Also u could take a look here: http://www.windowsitpro.com/Article/ArticleID/13596/13596.html :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.