Context Menu Issue

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by TheIgster, Aug 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Anyone else have this issue?

    I don't recall looking that closely previously, so perhaps it has always been like this, but is this a Windows 7 issue or an ESET issue?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    The issue is under investigation. Thank you for the report.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  3. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Same thing I just noticed in Thunderbird when checking email a second ago. I do know that there were several ESS buttons in Thunderbird previously with text and icons. Now, just this:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. estbird

    estbird Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    97
    I guess you've win7x64.
    Is it right?


    Try to turn off Test mode in setup > update > advanced setup > test mode.
    Then force update and then restart system.

    This should help.
     
  5. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Yep, 7, 64-bit.

    Force update? How does one go about doing that?
     
  6. estbird

    estbird Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    97
    After you change Test mode in setup > update > advanced setup > test mode
    you have to press button (link) "Update virus signature database".
    This cause that your test modules (pre-release modules) will be updated to release version of modules.
     
  7. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Mods? Does this sound like a fix?

    If I do this, can I put it back to test mode because I want to have the latest modules as soon as they are released.
     
  8. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Estbird's recommendation seems sound. You should have no problems toggling Test Mode on and off.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  9. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    OK. Well, disabled test mode, forced update and rebooted. All is fine again. Now I have re-enabled test mode and we'll see what happens. Nothing might happen right away, but on the next reboot things might go wrong again. We shall see.

    Edit: After enabling test mode again it seems that the issue is back in Thunderbird but not in the context menu in Windows Explorer. A reboot though and the Windows Explorer issue may be back as well.
     
  10. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Yep, both issues are back with ESS set to enable test mode. It would seem any new updates it has downloaded has caused this issue.

    Fix coming soon?
     
  11. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    It is being looked into by ESET's developers, however, I do not have a timeline for a fix yet.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  12. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Thanks.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.