Constantly under attack by same I.P.

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by CarlWinter, Jun 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CarlWinter

CarlWinter Registered Member

In my kerio intrusion log it tells me that there is constant trojan activity from the same I.P. and it gives me http://www.whitehats.com/info/IDS105 as the url. Should I be concerned about this? Obviously I am, so is there anything I can do to make this person stop hounding me. I'm fairly open to fighting fire with fire. Any suggestions?

P.S. I'm pretty new to the security scene (if that wasn't already obvious).

2. LowWaterMark

LowWaterMark Administrator

Hi Carl, welcome to the forum!

When looking at events in your firewall log, the first thing to know is that there will be a lot of incoming traffic blocked there, which is perfectly normal and that is not harmful to your computer. Really, that's why you have a firewall running - to block undesirable traffic coming in towards you from the Internet.

Now, whenever asking questions about specific firewall events, it's a good idea to post several samples of it from the log so that they can be analyzed. All parts of the data from the log except for your own IP address are needed in order to determine exactly what's going on. If you do post a log sample, then just block out your own IP address.

From the URL reference it gave you, it is simply telling you the traffic it blocked follows the pattern described at that site... most likely an incoming scan on a specific port that has been associated with that pattern.

The most important thing of course is that it blocked the traffic, which is why it is logged there. So, researching it further is mostly for informational purposes and to learn more about just what types of things you'll see in a firewall while you are connected to the Internet.

3. CarlWinter