considering new browser

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by majax, Jun 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. majax

    majax Guest

    I'm thinking about changing my browser. I currently have IE7.

    I've looked at firefox and I'm already seeing about 20 addons I'd want. With that many addons, FF can't be faster than IE can it?

    I've heard of safari and opera but know nothing about them.

    I've got a great and fast connection and would want to keep it that way. I don't see the benefit of Firefox when you end up having 60 addons loading.

    Any ideas on what I should try?
     
  2. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    IMO Firefox is excellent even without any addon.
     
  3. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Try em all and see what suits your needs best.
     
  4. ourstanley

    ourstanley Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    804
    Location:
    South Yorkshire, England.
    Give Maxthon a try, addons are available but it works straight out of the box. Loads of extra features in comparison to IE7 ie. split screen, screen capture, mouse gestures, auto fill, resume last session, Ad Hunter plus loads more already built into the browser.
     
  5. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    Hi

    Can't use Firefox with only a few addons?

    The functionality, safety and speed will still be greater than IE that way.
     
  6. HURST

    HURST Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,419
    When I first switched to FF, I had around 15 add-ons. With time you realize you don't need all of them, in fact many I never used. So now I trimmed down, and have just 4 add ons.
    My advice would be, try FF out. Add as many add-ons you like, see for yourself the performance hit, see for yourself what you need and what you don't need.

    BTW, Opera is great browser too. Fast and secure.
     
  7. Firebytes

    Firebytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    903
    Install both Firefox and Opera and see which one suits you best. You can always uninstall the one you don't want...or you can keep them both if you choose.
     
  8. RAD

    RAD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Posts:
    332
    I tried the new Safari.
    Fast, but too many errors.
    ...and not really all that noticeably faster, even though it was reputed (in some tests) to be the fastest.

    I went back to IE7, but I hear numerous good things about Firefox and Opera.
     
  9. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    For speed & simplicity, I recommend K-meleon.
     
  10. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Just 20 addons? Pffft! Theres people who have around 50, so dont feel guilty about it. Besides one of Firefox's main features is addons. And dont forget that Firefox 3 is greatly improved over version 2.

    Anyways you can consider Opera.
     
  11. HURST

    HURST Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,419
  12. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
  13. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
  14. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    A question about Maxthon and Avant on Vista- if either of these is installed will the browser still be in "protected mode" with UAC?
     
  15. majax

    majax Guest

    Well, I tried FF3 and I found it to be a memory hog w/o any addons installed. I read a few websites and apparently FF2 had memory leak issues. I see no reason to switch other than to be cool ;)
     
  16. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
  17. Firebytes

    Firebytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    903
    Yeah, if you take away the facts that FF3 is faster, more secure, and has more features than IE7, there really is no good reason to switch.;)
     
  18. L815

    L815 Guest

    Well if you want the IE core, go for Maxthon 2.

    For a non IE browser, I'd recommend Opera first, and Firefox 3 second.
    I have them both installed, though Opera is my main.
     
  19. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
    Sleipnir works in Protected mode (Local machine lockdown in the settings)with UAC. I'm not sure about the others.
     
  20. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    the way is headed its getting less safe quite quickly due to the sheer number of people using it.
     
  21. Firebytes

    Firebytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    903
    Agreed, FF will continue to become less secure than it once was as more and more people begin to use it and it becomes a bigger target for malware writers. I think it is still much more secure than IE7 though, especially with add-ons like NoScript for example.
     
  22. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe
    Quote. :) Really opera is a GREAT browser, secure, fast, rich in functions, with very nice skins...: the only difference from FF is that Opera has not a true advertising, whereas FF is trendy, it seems " young ".
     
  23. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Why not try them all. Many times I have IE7, FF, and Opera all up and running at the same time.

    Acadia
     
  24. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Find the most convenient browser for you and run it in a sandbox and lock your data folders. Case closed.
     
  25. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    what if i want to save a file to F:\users(name)\downloads?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.