Confused newbie needs help with trojan

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by frags, Mar 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. frags

frags Guest

Hi everyone, im a newbie to computers and need a little help with a trojan prob.

I realised I had one and tried getting rid with norton and ad-aware se, to no affect! Then downloaded trial version of trojan hunter which I thought had done the trick...it "cleaned" 12 trojan files!! ran it again today which showed all clear YET while it was running Trojan warning popped up, apparently in:-

C:\WINDOWS\svchost.exe

How can I get rid of this trojan, if it doesnt show up on my trojan hunter?

Any help really appreciated cos Im completely lost !! Cheers.

2. TopperID

TopperID Registered Member

svchost.exe is a legitimate program, hosted by Generic Host Process for Win32, and is used to run dll based services; you would normally expect to find it in the System32 folder - i.e. in C:\Windows\System32\

The file path you have given is incorrect, this suggests it is malware but with a plausible name. If you wish you could click Start/Run/msconfig, to bring up the System Utility Configuration box and look in the 'startup' tab. If you find svchost.exe listed there you will know it is 'bad' because the genuine article does not appear in msconfig/startup.

To give yourself the best chance of getting rid of this thing, try the following little routine:-

A) To start with you should disable system restore (I'm assuming you're using XP) as per here:- http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/tutorial56.html

B) Then clear out all your temp files, and the easy way to do that is by downloading CCleaner from here:- http://www.ccleaner.com/

C) Then you need to open Windows Explorer and:-
    1. Select "Tools" from the menu on top.
    2. Select "Folder Options".
    3. Select the "View" tab.
    4. Scroll down and Select "Show hidden files and folders".