Confused by wording in Advanced Setup

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by terradon, Mar 25, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. terradon

    terradon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    78
    I was just running through the Advanced setup for v6 and I'm confused. I went to the Eset site and searched the knowledgebase and now I even more confused! (I did leave feedback on the page)

    Here's my confusion. Advanced setup/Protocol filtering/Excluded applications.
    The window with the programs listed is headed: "Applications EXcluded from protocol filtering. Selected applications will be EXcluded from protocol filtering (HTTP, POP3):"

    That would indicate that I select (check the box) any application that I did NOT want to filtered. But the knowledge base says just the opposite, select only those applications that you WANT filtered such as IE and Outlook.

    Is this this a translation issue?...not knowing that the prefix EX means NOT, or in this case EXcluded = NOT included?
     
  2. Quad

    Quad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Posts:
    47
    You got it right the first time, any application you select in that list will be excluded from filtering, in other words, it will not be checked for threats.

    Additionally, a link to the knowledge base article you're talking about will be useful.

     
  3. terradon

    terradon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    78
    I thought of that as I was clicking 'Submit Reply'. Since I'm using v6 I looked here first: http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?pag...earch&viewlocale=en_US&searchid=1364242176868 .

    But v5 is similar: http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?pag...earch&viewlocale=en_US&searchid=1364242176868

    V4 also confuses: http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?pag...earch&viewlocale=en_US&searchid=1364242176868

    All of those examples seem to indicate that you select programs that you want checked, which is the opposite of what I thought. What am I missing?:doubt:
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I assume the author of the KB article didn't think much about it. In v3, email clients and browsers had to be ticked. The system for excluding applications from protocol filtering and selecting browsers and email clients changed as of v4.
    We'll update the KB articles.
     
  5. Quad

    Quad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Posts:
    47
    What's written in the knowledge base article is indeed contradictory to what's written in the program help and indicated by the interface, and can definitely be confusing.

    ESS interface and the help file are both correct (tested), what you select in that list is excluded from filtering and not checked for threats, the KB article needs to be corrected as far as I can see.

    The article for v6 is probably copy paste of v5's article with some modifications, same goes for v4 one, which explains why they're all similar.
     
  6. terradon

    terradon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    78
    Thanks Marcos.
     
  7. foneil

    foneil Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Posts:
    255
    Location:
    San Diego
    Thank you for the feedback and discussion about this functionality and the corresponding Knowledgebase content. This post is just to say that the following articles have been updated per the feedback. As always, the content exists for its usefulness, so any suggestions, recommendations or corrections are always appreciated.

    Adjust Protocol filtering settings to prevent computer disruptions due to network traffic scanning (4.x)
    • changed step 5 from "scanned" to "want to exclude".
    How do I adjust Protocol filtering settings to prevent computer disruptions due to network traffic scanning? (5.x)
    • changed step 4 from "scanned" to "want to exclude".
    How do I adjust Protocol filtering settings to prevent computer disruptions due to network traffic scanning in ESET Smart Security or ESET NOD32 Antivirus? (6.x)
    • changed step 3 from "scanned" to "want to exclude".
     
  8. Quad

    Quad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Posts:
    47
    [​IMG]
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.