Confused and desperately looking for answers!

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by cipherdias, Sep 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cipherdias

    cipherdias Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    I am very new to ATI and need some help. I have followed the online tutorial to build a BARTPE USB Flash drive to boot off and it works just fine but then how do I put ATI onto that drive so that I can restore drive images?

    OK, I now have found the BARTPE Plug in for ATI, does this have to go in a specific place on my USB drive or just in "PROGRAMS"?
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2007
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Are you saying you created a working BartPE CD that boots into BartPE but you didn't include the TI plugin so you can't run TI?

    Were you using mustang's guide or a different one?

    If it was mustang's, then you need to follow steps 8 and 9 ( or at least 8 ). Download the correct plugin and extract it to the C:\pebuilder3110a\plugin folder. Then run the TIH10-Get_Files+Lic.cmd file (for TI 10 Home, for example) to get the necessary files and license key from the Registry. Then re-run BartPE builder and then recreate your USB BartPE flashdrive using PEtoUSB.
     
  3. cipherdias

    cipherdias Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    I used the tutorial at www.mechrest.com/plugins/bartpeguide/bartpeguide.html

     
  4. cipherdias

    cipherdias Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    OK, I downloaded the plugin and extracted it to the correct folder but I don't see a file called "TIH10-Get_Files+Lic.cmd file"!

     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Then it's probably called AutoHelp.cmd. Run that and it should work.
     
  6. cipherdias

    cipherdias Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    Ran that file and I get this error:

    ERROR: File Copying Problem
    Acronis\trueImageHome\trueImage.exe is not present.
    Configuration will now abort and reset the plugin.
    Try again once the problem is solved

    ***I am guessing that this error might be because it is presuming that ATI is installed on C partition when in fact on my PC it is on D partition! I am copying the entire PEBUILDER folder to D to try running the command from there to see if it finds what it needs.

    Tried this and get the same error again!

     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2007
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I think the scripts look for the files in the default locations C:\Program Files\Acronis and C:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis.

    If you installed the TI program to a different drive/folder, the Common Files are probably in still in the C:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis folder.

    Take a look at the PRE\GetFiles.cmd file (right-click on it and select Edit to open with Notepad) and you'll see what it's trying to copy.

    Perhaps you can just copy your "Acronis" install folder and sub-folders into C:\Program Files\Acronis and then rerun the command. Or edit the GetFiles.cmd file so that it's pointing to the correct folders.
    For example, change:
    xcopy "%ProgramFiles%\Acronis\TrueImageHome\*.*" "Files\" to
    xcopy "D:\MyPrograms\TrueImage10\*.*" "Files\" (or whatever the directory is that you used).

    Another option would be to uninstall TI and reinstall it in the default location. Then run the script and build your BartPE CD. Once you have it working, you could uninstall TI and reinstall in back where you want.
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2007
  8. cipherdias

    cipherdias Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    Copied my Acronis install folder over to C and it built the plug-in perfectly! Thanks for all your help!!!

     
  9. rfmonaco

    rfmonaco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Posts:
    1
  10. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.