conflict?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by scaa, Nov 17, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. scaa

    scaa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    202
    o_O I would like to know if products like "Restore It" would create any conflict with acronis true image while bootingo_O?
     
  2. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    They shouldn't unless you have them running in the background. Just have them like any other program - run them as needed.
     
  3. scaa

    scaa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    202
    I was right. There is conflict. The attached image explains it all. I got it while trying to install the latest version restore it 7
     

    Attached Files:

  4. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    I'm not surprised. There is a similar conflict with GoBack.

    Well, take your pick: RestoreIt or TI. I'd pick TI for a full backup.
     
  5. scaa

    scaa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    202
    Same here at the moment. Just trying out the software
     
  6. jaygo

    jaygo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Posts:
    40
    Am posting because my experience seems to be at odds with a post in this thread. I have TI8 (build 937) and GoBack 4.02.309 running under XP Home SP2 standalone desktop and haven't received any conflict or error messages.

    Admittedly, I have never tried to clone a new hard drive from a TI8 image of a hard drive created while either: (1) GoBack was enabled or (2) GoBack was not enabled, to see if it can be successfully done; anybody know if it can be done with IT8, either way? Nella

    Edit Note: The 2nd sendtence of the above post was edited a few minutes after my original post. Nella
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2005
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello jaygo,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please take a look at this FAQ article describing how Acronis True Image 9.0 works with Norton Go Back.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  8. jaygo

    jaygo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Posts:
    40
    Alexey,

    May I assume everything said in this Q&A (in the FAQ cite you gave me) about TI 9 applies equally to TI 8 (I have TI eight)? I'm red-faced for missing it all this time. So that's the "conflict" the poster was referring to! Thanks for referring me to it.

    Based on this particular FAQ, all my TI8 images made in the past have been defective because in lieu of "disabling" GoBack before creating each True Image 8.0 image, my practice was simply to elect not to include the partition where the gobackio.bin file was located, when configuring the scope of the image from within TI 8. Whew! Glad I learned of this flaw in my methodology.

    I think I'll research for programs similar to GoBack that don't require manually disabling and rebooting prior to creating a TI 8 image, so I can return to having my TI image creation backups automated via the Task Scheduler. But until I find a GoBack replacement, I'll gladly suffer the inconvenience of disabling GB and rebooting my computer, to ensure I have good TI8 images.

    My incentive to find a GoBack substitute is now compelling since there's always a chance I'll have a crash between the time I disable GoBack and the time I re-enable it (after the TI Image is created); I don't like the idea of being in "no man's land" even for a short time.

    I really do appreciate your saving me from a potential disaster. Nella
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.