Conflict Between SpywareBlaster & AdwareSpy

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by Smitty, Aug 25, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Smitty

Smitty Registered Member

o_O I'm new to SpywareBlaster. When I run adware spy it tells me I have 398 objects to remove. When I remove them SWB tells me that 398 items are unchecked and not protected. When I check them and then run Adwarespy you guessed it, it tells me there are 398 items to remove. I just want to make sure the two programs are cancelling each other out! Explanation and advice appreciated!!!

2. Clowny

Clowny Registered Member

Adware spy is on Spyware Warriors rouge anti-spyware list.

http://www.spywarewarrior.com/rogue_anti-spyware.htm

3. Tassie_Devils

Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

Hi Smitty, welcome to forums. :)

In other words, what Clowny is correctly saying, AdwareSpy is a piece of garbage, it's a knock-off of some genuine program, poorly databased, coded, etc.

It gives what we call the "Wow Factor". You scan with it, gives a whole heap of false positives [meaning it postively identifies spyware, but they are false findings] so you go "Wow, look at all the crud this thing finds, where's my Credit Card, must buy this."

SpywareBlaster IS THE GENUINE ARTICLE! Trust it! :D

Cheers, TAS

4. Clowny

Clowny Registered Member

Thanks for clearing that up, Tassie. :)

That's what I get for trying to post while getting ready for work! :rolleyes: :D

5. eburger68

eburger68 Privacy Expert

Smitty:

As the others pointed out, AdwareSpy is on the Rogue/Suspect Anti-Spyware pages, and with good reason: inexcusable false positives. Hundreds of them even. That's what you've encountered. AdwareSpy is falsely flagging Registry keys related to SpywareBlaster's ActiveX control protections as "spyware." It removes the keys and values, and then SpywareBlaster correctly reports that those protections have been disabled.