Configuring a router

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Dregg Heda, May 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dregg Heda

    Dregg Heda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    Ive got a new router and ive got some questions. Can I just plug the router in, set up my account and connect to the net out of the box? What I mean is will I get the protection offered by a Nat router out of the box, or is there any specific configuring I will have to do to lock it down? If so, step by step instructions of what I need to do would be useful. Ive accessed the router setup page and there seems to be tonnes of options, so I am a bit confused by everything. Thanks.
     
  2. Searching_ _ _

    Searching_ _ _ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    1,988
    Location:
    iAnywhere
    A Hyper-vigilante approach:

    1. Turn off computer for 2 minutes, unplug if nescessary
    2. Unplugg all network cables from computer
    3. Unplug hard drive
    4. Turn computer on
    5. Insert Live Linux CD
    6. Connect Router to network card (ensure the router is not connected to internet)
    7. Configure router as needed (Depends on router model for available configuration options)
    • Use maximum number of characters allowed for password (My maximum is 83)
    • If you can change the Admin name, make it random and long.
    • Setup Firewall (If available)
    8. Unplug network cable
    9. Turn off computer and remove Live CD
    10. Plug hard drive back in
    11. Turn computer on, waiting for system to be fully operational
    12. Plug in network cable and surf.
    **Never access the router via the normal system, only from an isolated system using a Live CD.
    This is to ensure no keylogging or MITM will capture passwords to router.
    :D

    I am sure if you post router manufacturer, model, and version you will get more specific help.
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2010
  3. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    In essence yes. Change admin password; implement WPA2 for wireless; disable remote assitance if applicable; For any specific options post the router make/model as already suggested
     
  4. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    searching do you seriously go through all those steps?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.