Config 3.5?

Discussion in 'other anti-trojan software' started by bigbuck, Jul 7, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    Hi Guys,
    How do I configure the Ewido 3.5 plus version for Auto Updates 'On' and the guard 'Off'. Guard still chews too much juice on my system....
    TIA,
    Brad.
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    afaik, i guess the guard needs to be running (but not enabled) for auto updates to work but i may be wrong. generally with the guard disabled, there shouldnt be much of an impact on performance.
     
  3. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    You can click where I put the arrows:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,000
    And what is the use of this? If you uncheck realtime protection the guard just keeps working on 16 to 25mb or so.
     
  5. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    The next version 3.6 will have the guard improved a lot, with new features, configurations, so we have to wait...
     
  6. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    Thanks guys, but as far as I can see, you must hae the guard on for auto updates to enable.....
    I'm pretty disappointed in the guard too. Thought it may have improved from the last version, but it hasn't. Slows this system to a crawl (P4, 2.66GHz, 512) :doubt:
     
  7. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    No, you don't have to have the guard enabled to use autoupdates, i don't see any slowdown btw, in fact it seems lighter here, weird. ;) :)
     
  8. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    the realtime scanning can be turned off while autoupdates is turned on so im not sure what u or he means. perhaps he means the driver/tray icon.
     
  9. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    Thanks guys,
    I meant 'installed' not 'enabled'.
    I've uninstalled the guard because it chewed too much juice. The automatic updates also went. I found (I think) that even with the guard installed and disabled, it was still under taskmanager using a lot of cpu??
     
  10. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    I don't use the Guard of ewido because it use much more CPU than any AV...

    I'm waiting for the v3.6 to see the improvements and configuration... ;)
     
  11. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Hi Buck

    Are you sure you mean cpu & not memory? On my system Ewido uses around 17mb memory, but not much cpu.... :)
     
  12. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    Sorry, meant memory. But also Sytem Idle (cpu %) was running quite low while guard was going. Can't remember exact figures, but nowhere near the 90's where it usually runs.
     
  13. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Oh, ok, lets hope it's fixed soon, so you can also enjoy the same experience that i do.

    I'm going to bed now (2 am here), not tired though, just fresh out of beer. ;) :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.