Concerns re using TI and RollBack Rx together

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by bgoodman4, Jan 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bgoodman4

bgoodman4 Registered Member

I have been using TI for probably 5 years now and find it to be excellent however I am looking for a program that will enable me to take snapshots of the PC automatically so that I can rollback the PC to an earlier state (I have been using the version of GoBack released in 2004 to do this and feel its time to get a more current program). I have had no problem using GoBack and TI and thought that I had decided on a new combination of TI an RB but I just came across the following comment on another Wilder forum
    Has anyone had any experience with using the two programs together, or any thoughts at all about the advisability of doing so?

2. bgoodman4

A bit more info regarding the problem and a few additionbal questions.

bgoodman4

Jo Ann

I have a few questions regarding this issue ---

1: If I do as Jo Ann suggests would I then be able to use my most recent version of my TI images to restore the PC or would I be limited to using the pre-RollBack version?

2: Why would this problem be a problem in the first place? If TI backs up everything including the MBR why would a restore not have boot capability? I would think everything on the PC would be returned to the state it was at when the backup was done. Or is this an issue with backing up from within Windows (the method I have always used) and would it be eliminated if I created a sector by sector image using TI?

3. bgoodman4

Does nobody have any thoughts on this issue, especially in regards to my questions at the end of the previous post? If its likely to cause a problem I will not use the programs in combination but I would like to be able to use a rollback program. Any suggestions for a rollback program that does work without problems in combination with TI (version 11 currently installed)?