Computer temporary locked for 4-5 minutes

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by BSOTW, Feb 21, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BSOTW

    BSOTW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    15
    Hello!
    my computer is an PIII with 1,13 GHz and one prozessor. 1,5 GB RAM and Windows XP prof.
    When I upgrade from version 5.2.29 to 6.308 the computer temporary hangs.
    I type Ctrl-Alt-Del. After 2-3 minutes (!) the task-manager will open an show me, that ekrn.exe using 99% of processor power.
    After the time I told, the computer works normaly. This situation will come at least one time after start the computer. The most time directly when windows has boot, but sometimes after a few minutes when I still working.

    I think, that I must downgrade to version 5, because this fact ist not acceptable.

    Regards
     
  2. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Did you install V6 over V5? Or did you uninstall V5 first and then installed V6?

    If you didn't make a clean install then I think you should try that by uninstalling V6 and then re-installing V6. HTH :)

     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2013
  3. Sarex

    Sarex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Posts:
    5
    Yesterday my computer locked up too, though I hard restarted it.

    I have a clean install of v6.
     
  4. BSOTW

    BSOTW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    15
    SweX:
    I uninstalled v5. After this, I installed v6.306.3
    This version have had the same malfunction. In order of this I uninstalled 306.3 and installed 308. This made no effect about my problem.

    Regards
     
  5. black_harry

    black_harry Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Posts:
    17
    Hi,

    So how about V5. If you have V5 installed then everything is ok?
    It happens only on V6?


    harry
     
  6. BSOTW

    BSOTW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    15
    I will downgrade to V5 on monday and will tell you, if it is ok after this.
     
  7. black_harry

    black_harry Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Posts:
    17
    Hi again,


    From your description it seems that it happens once right? After system is up right?

    I think that V5 is still mor stable for now then V6, but from what Marcos mentioned somewhere it seems that V6 new package will be available soon - so I hope many issues will be fixed in upcoming release.

    harry
     
  8. BSOTW

    BSOTW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    15
    Hi Harry,

    the pc with the problem is at another location. Here on my notebook (duo core) I don't experience this problem (I have 3 licences).
    So on monday evening I will uninstall v6 on the PIII System and reinstall v5.29.
    I am curious about the result an will post it here on this site.

    When it will work correctly, I will wait for the new v6 package and try it again.

    Regards
     
  9. BSOTW

    BSOTW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    15
    5.2.9.12 now is install and works fine, without malfunction or interruption.
     
  10. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Is any additional security software installed on the computer?

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  11. BSOTW

    BSOTW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    15
    Hello,

    there is no additional security software installed.
    Only ESS.

    Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.