Computer doesn't turn on

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Phillip, Oct 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Phillip

    Phillip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Guys

    I installed acronis some tow weeks ago on my laptop and made my back ups. Problem is an unusual problem ocurred yesterday my laptop just switched off when i was trying to insert a cellphone cable to one of the input sockets...


    ....now i guess i have to send it for repair, will I lose acronis secure zone once it gets fixed and is the any other thing I should try before sending for repair....it doesnt even show a single light of receving power or turning on

    Anybody had a problem like this before?
     
  2. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Re: COMPUTER DOESNT TURN ON

    If they need to replace your hard drive or reload your operating system, then your backups may(?) be lost. If you have important data on it, then you may want a local repair technician to copy your hard drive before sending it in for repair.

    Having additional backups stored on an external drive plus additional backups stored on CD/DVD provides additional security should you have hdwe failures, etc. Having alternate backups on separate devices enables you to protect your data no matter what happens to your computer.
     
  3. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    “it doesnt even show a single light of receving power or turning on”
    Could be power supply or motherboard that got fried. Was the PC on when you plugged in this cable? What was on the other end and was it powered on?
    Really doesn't sound like a TI problem at this point.
     
  4. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    I would start by getting a DVM on your power supply - but this really does not sound ATI related.

    F.
     
  5. AlaninKY

    AlaninKY Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Posts:
    14
    Phillip it sound like a hardware issue. Hopefully your laptop is still under hardware warranty. Does Not sound like a TI issue. Hopefully you made a rescue disk with backup on either external hard drive or DVD disks.
     
  6. norrisg

    norrisg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Posts:
    33
    I think most of you are missing the point. He's not blaming ATI, he's worried about losing his backups when the manufacturer "helpfully" reformats the drive.

    You can try telling them not to format it, but I wouldn't rely on that. Are you capable of removing the drive yourself? If so, ask them if they'll accept it for repair minus the drive. Otherwise, as one person did suggest, you're going to need someone local to take the drive out and back it up for you ... and restore it again later.

    Another choice - one I use - is to keep the original drive as supplied for this purpose, while for normal purposes I use a larger, faster, drive I installed myself. A bit late for that now though.

    Graham.
     
  7. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    Didn’t miss the point – but this is an Acronis True Image support forum.
    Hardware issues, while certainly important, can’t really be addressed here to any great length.
     
  8. Phillip

    Phillip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    thanks guys, I took my laptop to a technician and he said it was a power problem....some power technical mumbo jumbo....so now he got it fixed i still have my system as is. Thanks for your help :)
     
  9. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Philip,
    You do have your *.tib backup files stored on drives other than your laptop, don't youo_O You know, on a external drive and also on DVD media!! Just a plug for the prevention of a disaster.:)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.